Mistaken Identity

death

Mistaken Identity

Blasts from the chamber clanging in my ears
Smells of soot, sulfur, and paralyzing fear
Images playing in my head of all I’d held dear
As the contract had been signed
The paper had been signed and paid for
And sealed with a beer

Rifling through my purse, his eyes filled with dismay
A two-second apology and he fled into the alleyway
My purse and license tossed and at my feet they lay
Had he not meant to rob me?
Was this all just a mistake?
As my life lay in a dark parking lot to waste

-Carol Blake

Leave a Reply

