Days 7-11 of the Happily Ever After Challenge

I apologize for being a bit slow on keeping this updated. Since the next 4 days will be catching up, I will try to keep them short and sweet.

fitness

Day 7 – Fitness

To some, this should be a four letter word, me included. Now, if it was spent hiking a trail (but not in this Mississippi summer heat), snow skiing, water skiing or mountain climbing, I’d look forward to it, but the thought of going to the gym, or getting on the treadmill in my living room or simply taking a walk, blegh. However, once I actually get on the treadmill, about halfway through the experience, I’m liking it. I’m thinking, “Well, this is going to whip my bootie into shape while at the same time, giving me energy to fuel my day, increasing and bettering my mood, making my heart healthy and once I’m done, I’ll step off into a high, which I love!” Do you ever get that? You step off the treadmill and you feel like you’re floating across the floor? I love it! However you get your fitness, it’s good for you and it will boost your level of happiness.

pamper

Day 8 – Pamper yourself day

Treat yourself to a luxurious hot bubble bath or fragrant bath salts. Light some candles. Turn on some mood music (Louis Armstrong, Billie Holiday, Etta James, or whatever strikes your fancy) and pamper yourself.  This is a great day for sipping your coffee outside just before the sunrise, in the coolness of the day, listening to nature, watching the colors of the sky change and the vibrancy of the green in the trees before and after the sunshine rests upon them. Dance through your day. Sway to mellow music that feels healing to you, or jazz it up and pump it up, get yo booty on the floor and do that happy dance, depending on your mood. Want relaxation or to shake yo booty? A nice cup of hot tea in the evening with a piece of shortbread or a scone is a nice treat at the end of the day.

grass

Day 9 – Get out in nature

If it’s 107 degrees with the heat index where you are, like it is here, try to get outdoors just when the sun is rising or just before when the sky is starting to light up, or get outside at sunset, dusk or just after it gets dark, dance with the fireflies, walk barefoot in the grass, listen to the sounds of nature, the crickets chirping, the birds singing, the frogs burping. Either take a 10-20 minute walk, (just walk around on your lawn barefoot), or sit outside in your porch swing (or what have you) and awaken your senses to the great outdoors – sounds of nature, feeling the breeze (hopefully) on your skin and in your hair, take in the beauty surrounding you, notice the fragrance in the air where you are.

smile

Day 10 – Smile day

Wherever you are, whether alone or in a crowd, smile! Work those grinning muscles! Even if it’s fake, fake it till ya make it. Just the simple act of smiling can make you wanna turn that frown upside down. Sometimes going through the motions can lift your spirits and get you out of the funk you’re in. Look in the mirror and smile. Grin a silly grin. Just pretend if you have to, and before long, you won’t be pretending.

laugh

Day 11 – Laugh day

Make yourself laugh! Make others laugh. Tell jokes. Listen to jokes. Watch funny movies. Listen to your favorite comedian. Visit with family members or friends that are funny and silly and let them make you laugh, or vice versa. Do whatever you have to do to laugh as much as you can today. Turn on a fun dance song, pretend you are making your own silly music video. Sing to it and dance around, put on a sexy gaze that can only produce belly laughter! Sometimes, ya gotta be crazy, shake things up, and get yo laugh on! Do this alone or with others. I do this quite frequently when I’m alone and with my family. Crazy, right? Yup, that’s me.

Have a stellar day, y’all!  Love ya!

*smooch*

#HappilyEverAfter

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

5 thoughts on “Days 7-11 of the Happily Ever After Challenge”

Leave a Reply

