Day 5 & Day 6 of Happily Ever After 30 day Challenge

meditation

I’m a day late and dollar short but I’m here, showing up…

And with that, let us begin with our Day 5 that I’m a day behind on…

Day 5 = Meditation

No, I didn’t say medication, although meditation is sort of medication for the soul, for the mind, as well as relaxation of stress and worry for the body, so sure, meditation can be considered medication, but no drugs are involved with this.

Not to sound too woo-woo, as meditation, to some, can be considered new-agey or something abnormal. That’s what I used to think about meditation, anyway. And I know many who think it’s weird, new-agey or not in line with their religion. Fact is, meditation dates back over 5,000 years.

This is simply training the mind to relax, focus on simply the music playing and/or the words spoken when using a guided meditation, which is what I prefer.

I dare you to try it. It’s the stuff! It’s made a profound impact on me and my focus and being able to still myself and be in the moment and more aware. Although, when I go a few days or weeks without it, I can also see myself begin to spiral downward back into my depths of despair of whatever negative things are going on in my life at the moment. Meditation, for me, helps me to be more aware of myself in the moment, helps me to relax more, worry and doubt less, believe more, while also teaching me to be gentle with myself and cut me a break – something I’m not used to doing. I’ve always been harder on myself than anyone else so this has been quite the lesson for me.

If you need a free resource or lead to some great guided meditations – you can Google guided meditation on YouTube and look for the most viewed or most liked, or one of the ones I prefer to use is an app I downloaded on my Android phone: Mindfulness Meditations – once you download, then click Library, then Mindfulness for Releasing Anxiety FREE (23 minutes).

I dare you to meditate at least 20 minutes a day for a week and tell me how it’s changed your life.

healthy eating

Today, you get 2 for the price of 1 = Day 6 = Healthy Eating

It’s all about eating less junk food and filling your plate (not to the brim, but sensible servings) with dark green, leafy stuff. Baby spinach is great! Eat more salad, chop up strawberries and add a couple, add some blue cheese, or your preferred flavor, and then ever so light on the vinaigrette. Drink more water. You are supposed to get 64 oz of fluids per day. Hot summer days and more physical activity means you need even more than that. Eat more veggies. Get your protein through chicken and/or turkey, as these are probably the healthiest proteins for your body. Less red meat. Cut the sugar. Sugar is probably the leading cause of acne, wrinkles, age spots and other skin conditions, among other internal disease.

Try to get away from processed foods and go for the more organic and raw foods. Berries are great for you! The more colorful the fruit and veggie, the better it is for you. Red bell pepper, eggplant, pomegranate, blueberries, strawberries, etc. Sweet potatoes and bananas are good for you, also, but if you are trying to lose weight, opt to find your potassium elsewhere rather than bananas, because those will not help you lose weight. Kick away the hamburgers, the chips, the soda, candy, cookies, cake, etc. Eating healthy will not only lead to a healthier body, healthier skin, but also a healthier disposition, because not only will you BE healthier, you’ll FEEL healthier and be filled with more energy, thus leading to happiness, or #HappilyEverAfter – woo-hooo!

Hope you are finding yourself a bit happier.  Let me know if I can help!

Love ya!  xoxo

Carol

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

Leave a Reply

