Fighting for His Young Life

image

I am so ashamed. I have been having meltdowns over this insane week we’ve had – Mama’s truck broken down, then mine, then Hallie’s, very sick dog to vet, viruses on my computer, so that has to go to Geek Squad for several days, so I cannot work, I cannot write, etc., and about 5 other things went wrong this week. You know how when it rains, it pours?  Well, being busy having my pity party, I go on FaceBook to hopefully find something funny or beautiful or a deep quote to put it all in perspective.

I found perspective.

I found this precious little boy fighting for his life. Cancer. Very rare and aggressive. Stage 4. Just started chemo. Doesn’t look good.

I started to cry, begging God to forgive me. How can I cry for me and my family’s issues when this child is fighting to live, this mom and dad is having to watch their baby go through chemo and what comes with it? I cannot begin to imagine what this struggle and heartache must be like for anyone.

Then I started to pray for this sweet boy, his family, the health professionals associated with Lucas.

That’s his name. Lucas. Lucas Jones.

Then I started to pray for every child fighting to live. No child should have to go through this. No family should. Nobody should.

I found a Facebook page started on behalf of Lucas and his family so we could all keep up with their journey. 

I also noticed they set up a Go Fund Me account to help with medical expenses. I’ve never had the privilege of meeting these fine people but God placed it on my heart to help.

You can help in a myriad of ways:

1.  By reading their story and following along with them on their journey. Like/follow their FB page https://www.facebook.com/LoveforLuki

2. Check out their Go Fund Me campaign. A donation of just $5 can do so much to help. https://www.gofundme.com/Zewg7v64

3. Go to any Medic Blood Center and donate blood in Lucas’ name and he will get credit for it. Or donate for anyone. There are so many people who can benefit from your donation.

4. Last but definitely not least, pray. Please pray for Lucas, his family, the medics that are all assisting, and for every child/every person who has to go through something like this.

Thank you!!  And may God bless you.

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

Leave a Reply

