I did it!!! Thanks, God!!!

excited

I did it today

God said to go out and play

And new friends I made

 

It is a new bit

I thought I couldn’t do it

Out of the park hit

 

He’s making me see

To live you have to be free

Drop fears within me

__________

Hey y’all!  How ‘r’ you doin’?  I’m giddy!  Out of my mind crazy happy!  I started out excited, happy, scared to death and nervous as heck!  I have to tell you that God is so friggin’ awesome!  He filled me with the confidence and warmth I needed and soothed my nerves just enough to get through it.  And guess what?!  It was stinkin’ amazing and awesome in every way!  I found the most gracious, deep, warm, compassionate woman who agreed to interview with me and it went better than I could have ever imagined!  I also made several new friends and more people who’d like to interview when I go back next week!  How cool is that?

So, for all you out there who think you’re too old to try something new – for all those who are scared to death to face people, much less talk to them – for all those introverted people (like me) who prefer hiding rather than going out in the public and talking to perfect strangers, remember this – YOU are never too old to do something new, wild and different.  Fears are there to be faced and triumphed over.  Don’t let your fears hold you back from doing something you are drawn to do.

Now, there are healthy fears.  I mean, you will never see me jumping out of a perfectly good airplane.  Nuh-uh.

But don’t be afraid to talk to strangers.  You might just meet some incredible new lifelong friend!  I cannot get over how much this woman and I had in common with each other.  After the interview, we talked for at least an hour.  Actually, longer.  I went in at 10:30 and left after 2pm.  I believe I just made a new lifelong friend.  And several other friends.  All because I was willing to put myself out there.  Now those of you who know me – you know that’s not my comfort zone AT ALL!  But I faced my fear.  I did something I never thought I’d do and it was amazing!  And I made new friends.  And I gained more confidence in myself – something I was severely lacking.  And God helped me every step of the way!

So is there something in your mind that holds great meaning for you?  What’s stopping you from going after it?  If it’s fear, you need to look at that monster straight in the eye and say, “You ain’t stoppin’ me!  I might feel fear but I’m gonna go and do that thing anyway!  Because I know I can do it!  God will help me do it!  And Fear, I will not let you get in my way!”

Now go and do that thing!  Rock it like a boss!  And let us know how it goes because I get so tickled cheering people on!!  Whoop!  Whoop!

 

(Photo courtesy of redefineyourfuturenow.com)

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

Leave a Reply

