Blessed, Even Though I Roll My Eyes

eye roll

Hmmm…  Another Thankful Thursday.  What should I be thankful for today?  This morning, my teenager was acting like a… well, a teenager.  I don’t wake up grumpy.  I let her sleep in.  But only on the weekends when we don’t have to be somewhere.  Most of the time, we have to be somewhere.  She has good mornings.  She has bad mornings.  I guess it’s that way for everyone.  I’m not a morning person myself.  It was nice dropping her at school and saying goodbye to her for the entire day, though.  I needed a break from her.  She’s a rude dude with a bad attitude.  I roll my eyes (where she can’t see) A LOT!  I know I’m not fun all the time either.

So, back to my question.  What am I thankful for today?  Well, everything really.  I don’t like her attitude sometimes but I do love her, and like her the majority of the time.   Thankful for working from home.  Thankful for jobs I absolutely love with clients I adore and respect.  Thankful for my mom who lives next door.  Thankful to have Hallie’s backup vehicle since mine is sick right now.  Thankful for our home.  Thankful to have land to run on with the dogs and plant gardens, even though I haven’t had time for that this year.  Thankful for our good health.  Her good school.  Being single/divorced.  It’s a great thing!!!  For family.  For friends.  For upcoming exciting projects.  For writing.  Even for stepping outside my comfort zone, which scares me to death but it’s good for me and good for my growth.  Thankful for courage and for faith.  And though I may get irritated with God from time to time, I’m thankful for him and Jesus and all they have blessed our lives with.

So I’m thankful for a lot!

What are you thankful for?

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

Leave a Reply

