Thankful Thursday – Week 1 – I LOVE YOU & I Think You’re Awesome!

thanks

I haven’t made a lot of time for blogging lately but I feel the need to at least do little snippets of blog posts so I thought Hump Day Haiku would be fun, quick and perhaps engaging with those of you who might want to play along.

And I guess Thursday will be for Thankfulness.

Trying to learn to be more mindful in each day, in each moment (something new I’m trying to teach myself) made me realize I want to be thankful in each moment, in each breath I take, with every beautiful thing I see and feel and experience.  Like the sky this morning.  It was an awesome sight!  Hauntingly romantic foggy mornings as the trees and flowers are beginning to wake from their slumber.  The way the sky is illuminated with shades of purple, pink and orange when the sun is slowly descending in the west.  The musical tones of the laughter that spills out of my beautiful daughter and adorable mother.  A sweet smile from a kind stranger as he passes by and the infectious giggles from those little kids over there talking about something just between them.

So much beauty and charm surrounds us on a daily basis but so many of us don’t see it.  We don’t notice.  We don’t pay attention.  We’ve learned to tune so much out.  Have you noticed?  You might be so completely surprised how your mood might be changed just by engaging with someone, have a conversation, smile at someone, allow someone with less groceries than you to go in front of you, say hello.  This not only benefits those around you as your positive energy resonates outward onto others, but this benefits you, as well.  One good feeling deserves another.  Keep that going and you are going to feel AMAZING at the end of your day.

Take time to be thankful to the one who created you and your life.  I actually sort of think we planned it all out with The Big Man before we came down here.  That’s another blog post but I think we chose our family, certain experiences we’d have — all in the spirit of strengthening our souls, we had things we wanted to learn, we wanted to build our character, we wanted to test ourselves, we wanted to grow our spirits.  Might not make sense, I don’t know.  It’s something I’ve felt since I was little.

Many bad things happen in our lives and we make mistakes, perhaps we have regrets.  I’ve screwed up a TON!  But, honestly, I only have one regret in my entire life.  I didn’t make up with my daddy after we’d had a disagreement and I’m so bad at holding grudges.  He’d moved on and was over it but I wasn’t.  I wanted to punish him by staying mad.

And then he died.

My daddy died so suddenly and unexpected and I’m afraid I’ll never completely heal from this.  Oh, I know he visits often and he’s forgiven me and that’s cool and everything.  I know he loves me and I’m forgiven but it’s not the same, you know?  I’ll never have that moment back to say I’m sorry to his face or at least make things happy again between us and not be angry with him before our last goodbye.

Another reason to be mindful.

So today, and every day, I am thankful.  I am thankful most of all for those I love and hold closest to my heart.  My answer to a life-long prayer = my daughter, who is also my best friend.  My mom, who has always loved me, even when I wasn’t loveable, who never left me, and whom I’m so proud of.  I’ve watched her grow soooo much over the years into the wonderful person she is today.  Mama, I could not be more proud of the lady you’ve become.  She’s also my best friend.

I’m thankful for so many things, and I don’t have all day long to list them all, and you don’t have all day to sit and read and I don’t want to cause you to fall asleep at your monitor so I’ll leave you with this — be thankful.  Not just for everything you have in your life, but especially for those people in your life that mean the most to you.  Always be happy with them before you say goodbye or good night, because it might be your last chance to ever see or speak to them again.  Speak to them with love.  Treat them with love.  Be sure in your soul they know you love them and they bring you happiness.  You’ll be so blessed by this and so will they.

What/who are you thankful for?

Another thing… I love you guys!  *smooches*

xoxo

 

(Photo courtesy of projectwarmsb.org)

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

9 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – Week 1 – I LOVE YOU & I Think You’re Awesome!”

    1. Aw, Allison, you are such a sweet soul to say such a thing! Thank you!! I’m thankful for your energy and light, as well, my sistah. Smooches, squishes and supa dupa love right back at ya! Lots o’ S’es in this one. Hehe! I wish for you all good things. 😀 xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a great blessing indeed! Love those big families, especially if they are all there for you. The more, the merrier, right? You’re so sweet, Jess! I’m blessed and thankful to call you friend. My day has been fabulous! Hope yours has been, as well! Thanks, dahlin. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I try to remember each night to review the day and find the things I am grateful for. Sometimes I forget, especially on the harder days. It’s nice to have this reminder that there is no day for which we can’t find some good.

    Like

    1. I need to do this at night, as well. I’ve been trying to make it a habit to do this each morning upon waking and while I ready myself for the day. I can see how it would be hard to remember on difficult days. Hard to focus on anything positive when you’re suffering. Ah yes, so true – “there is no day for which we can’t find some good.” Love that! There is beauty and good things in our lives every single day. 🙂 xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

