Fashionably Late

P1030982

I come a little late to the party, I know, and especially after promoting the Cherished Blogfest.  Sorry.  Been a crazy last few days.  But I do come bearing gifts.  I brought a bottle of sweet red and some aged sharp cheddar.  Won’t you have some?  I never show up to a party empty handed.  😉

Grand C, AZ 10, July 2010 Roadtrip

P1050171

Well, what is one of my most cherished objects?  I’ve thought long and hard about this and many things come to mind — a little peach stuffed dog with brown ears that my mom got me when I was about 3 to cheer me up when I was very sick (don’t worry, I’ve washed it since), named Peaches, the Wonder Dog.  I’ve cried many a tear into Peaches over the years.  I bought myself a stuffed dog when I was pregnant with Hallie, because the hubs was not very huggable at the time and this piece of fluff named Honey comforted me until my sweet squishy baby came along, and now I’ve been squishing her for the last 15 years.  My trusty laptop that I use 7 days a week is a trusted pal.  If I still had my grandparents’ vintage Royal typewriter, I’m pretty sure that would come in as #2 on my list of cherished objects, but the #1 slot, I’d have to say, belongs to (*drum roll*)…

P1030128

My photos.

hallie in her crib laughing

Photos of family.  Photos of friends.  Photos of our many and varied travels by car, ship, plane, train, bus, caravan, horse drawn carriage, etc.  If my house was on fire (God forbid), what would I grab to save if I had a chance after the humans and fur babes were out?  Photos.  Most of these, since 2007, are on flashdrives and I keep them all in the same place so they’re easy to find.  I think I could replace everything else in the house eventually, but my heart would be broken and never to heal if I lost all my many photos.  I cannot tell you how many boxes of photos I have but it’s A LOT!  One day, when I have free time (what the heck is that?!), I will manage to scan all these photos onto flashdrives so I’ll have them all easily accessed and easily portable.  Yeah, many are in the cloud and in different sources of media that I could access from any computer but I don’t have all those baby photos scanned, yet.  And all the old photos of my grandparents, parents, even great grandparents – these are my treasures.

Copy painting bilateral

Daddy and Hallie as baby

Photographs capture a bit of history.  They capture a precious moment in time and that moment is forever preserved, never to age, never to wrinkle (granted you take care of the photos) and all you have to do besides accessing the memory in your mind is to simply gaze upon these shining sweet faces and it takes you back to their childhood, or that cruise you took or that Girl Scout train trip to New Orleans.  You can remember those sweet moments with your dad when he was alive, he was laughing, you were laughing, everybody in the picture has red faces, because they’re all pretty much laughing, trying to catch a breath as they shed a tear and grab their stomachs from the pain of all that belly laughter.  And all it takes is a quick peek at a picture.

GranC & H smiling and holding hands in back yard

Hallie at carnival in racecar

Even those photos of the great grandparents you never met — these can carry you off, also, to places you’ve never seen except in the backgrounds.  The hairstyles make you smile, the curly perms their mom’s must have given them, their little sheet dresses and bare feet, the log cabin standing behind them, the clothes off to the right hanging on the line.  Yes, these are our memories, our history, our loves, and though, many may be bittersweet, the sweet overrules the bitter any day when all you have to do to visit a place in time is to look at a photograph.  And, of course, read a book — that can take you around the world and any spot in time, because they are the best time machines, along with photos.

Silly Rabbit, Ryan Dam, Great Falls, MT, July 2010 Roadtrip

photos 050910035_edited

So, perhaps a bit lengthy and for that I apologize.  I do tend to get carried away and ramble on a bit but I am passionate about my pictures.  Can you tell?

Just a few of those are:

Hallie and Buddy

The Grand Canyon

Mama on one of our travels

Lilly Margaret (Hallie calls her Lilly Marge when she’s in trouble) kissing one of her stuffed animals (Yup, she kisses.  She smiles with her teeth, too!  Multi-talented.  Ha!)

Baby Hallie

Mama and Hallie (my 2 best peeps) and back when Hal had her braces

Daddy and Hallie

Mama and Hallie

Hallie in a race car ride (LOVE that I caught that expression!!!  Priceless.)

Hallie crossing one eye, because she’s multi-talented, too.  Hehe!  The kid ain’t right.

And me and Hallie.  Yeah, me on a bad hair day, but I love those photos of me and my babe.

Enjoy.  😉  xoxo

 

 

8 thoughts on “Fashionably Late

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I 100% agree with your journey here, I have several copies also, on both computers and then on a separate hard drive. These are the most precious things in ones life. I can trace my Ellie from a baby up and actually see her growing through. So never let the memories or pictures fade… my picture of my mother stays in my head.. nice walk down your memory lane….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, you can never be too careful about preserving and saving those precious moments in many secure areas, for sure. That’s awesome. I know how you must treasure those sweet moments of your daughter growing up and especially the image of your mother. I look at the images of my dad all the time, too. Thanks Gerry! xoxo 😉

      Like

  2. udoji75 says:

    I had great time going through your photo collections.It’s nice to see your dad and mum happy and still full of life.As for Hallie,she might just be the next first Formula One(F1) superstar on junior category.lol. She is so sweet and talented.
    At last, I could see you now and you know what Carol,you’re ravishingly beautiful and you stun my senses. xoxo !! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. agmoye says:

    better late than never. thanks for the wine and cheese.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Damyanti says:

    Photos are my great source of solace, too. this about sums it up: “Photographs capture a bit of history. They capture a precious moment in time and that moment is forever preserved, never to age, never to wrinkle”

    Thank you for participating in the Cherished Blogfest, and for sharing your cherished photos.

    The linky list will be available for the coming months, so go ahead and party with your new friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Damyanti for your sweet comment and for hosting this Blogfest with your peeps. It was fun! I will definitely check out that linky list during the coming weeks and make some more friends. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

