What If…

salman

“Go for broke. Always try and do too much. Dispense with safety nets. Take a deep breath before you begin talking. Aim for the stars. Keep grinning. Be bloody-minded. Argue with the world. And never forget that writing is as close as we get to keeping a hold on the thousand and one things–childhood, certainties, cities, doubts, dreams, instants, phrases, parents, loves–that go on slipping, like sand, through our fingers.”   ~ Salman Rushdie

__________

How great would it be if we all lived this way?  To be so free – to live with abandon.  Why do we not all do this?  Why do we not live more for today instead of procrastinating, putting everything off till tomorrow – tomorrow, when I have more money and more free time – tomorrow, after I finish all the more important stuff I have to do today – tomorrow, when my kid is grown and off to college and I have more time for me.  Tomorrow never comes.  Have you begun to realize this?

Aren’t you worth taking a risk?  A leap?  What if?  What if you did that thing and you succeed?  You’ll be rich.  You’ll be famous.  Well, maybe not.  But maybe.  At least you will have done it and you’ll have the happiness of accomplishing that thing and reaching success.  And then you can keep doing that thing, because you’re successful, or keep doing that and other stuff.  Who knows?  You might succeed at more.

What if you fail?  Well, at least you tried.  And trying makes you more successful than not lifting a finger.  You would no longer need to ask, ‘what if?’  Maybe that thing wasn’t meant for you.  Or maybe you need to keep trying or try harder, depending on how much you want it.  Jack Canfield tried – what? – 140 times before he got published?

What if you don’t try?   …

You’ll never know.

Don’t you want to know?

Time is going by in a blink!  Take a risk.  Step up.  Get it done.  Get it out there.  Do that thing that is soooo in your heart to do.  You’re gonna be glad you did.  And maybe you’ll get it done before you’re 101. I’m just sayin’.  Ya ain’t gettin’ no younger.  Remember, tomorrow never comes.  Put in the work today.  15 minutes gets you closer than none.

What are you afraid of?

 

4 thoughts on “What If…

  1. agmoye says:

    What if is the title of my web page, so I like your title as well. After losing two sisters, I came to realize that tomorrow never comes and now try more and more to take a different path each day to see what lies ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will definitely check out your page. My heart hurts that you lost your sisters. I’m so sorry, honey. I love how you choose a different path each day. I think that’s awesome!! xoxo

      Like

  2. Great post! Big fan of Rushdie here, and of living like today’s all we have–which is, after all, a fact 🙂 I found you via the Cherished blogfest, and loved this (even if it wasn’t the ‘fest post). Will be back often 🙂
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, gotta live for today for sure. 🙂 Yeah, I’ve had a crazy weekend and need to go on over there and do my Cherished blogfest post, as well as check out everyone’s! I will visit yours in the next day or two. Welcome to the family! Happy to have ya here. xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

