Negative People Irk Me

ass

I’ve been blogging and tweeting for years and I’ve just received the first negative comment ever via a private message.  I guess I should feel thankful as I’ve gone this long not hearing rude remarks from some of the many angry people out there.

He claims I boast and brag based on my last posted quote, saying I was claiming my experience to be the same as Mr. Wodehouse.  Sometimes someone’s thoughts and memories bring up similar thoughts and memories of my own.  I, in no way, mean to ever claim I’ve had the “same” experience as someone else.  They may be similar but I do not compare myself to anyone else.  I like to make connections – connections with other writers (and he claimed that was lame, too), connections with musicians, artists, CEOs, all friggin’ walks of life.  I like to make friends.  I like to hear their stories.  Sometimes, I like to share a story of my own.

I sincerely never meant to brag or boast.  I honestly don’t ever recall ever bragging or boasting, unless it was bragging on my child, as I am her biggest fan, and should be, and if you don’t like it, you can go jump off a…  okay, let me calm down a bit.

If you think I ever brag or boast, please tell me.  Set me straight.  I certainly have nothing to brag about.  My life ain’t all that. We struggle on a daily basis, wonder if we’ll make ends meet from week to week.  But I am rich in love, rich in family, rich in friends, rich in imagination, and gaining richness in forgiveness.  I realize there are angry, evil people out there, where it seems their main goal and ambition is to bring others down.  Well, it pretty much fired me up and pissed me off.  It didn’t get me down, so here you go, douche bag, get a life.  Yeah, you made me angry.  You are an angry, self-absorbed person, since all you did was be the kettle calling me black as you bragged and boasted about all those little details you spewed out about your “accomplishments.”

Remember this:  “An ounce of pretension is worth a pound of manure,” as quoted from Steel Magnolias.  You might be better served to shut your mouth, grow a heart, maybe some compassion and look inside yourself before you start spewing that garbage to someone else.  Oh, I’m not vexed.  Not anymore.  I’ve had my say and I feel better.  I’m too sorry for you to leave any room in my heart for anger or disgust.  Seems to me you need prayers and maybe a darn good spanking rather than my anger.

And to the rest of you, I hope you know how much I appreciate you, your blogs, your friendship, your sharing pieces of your lives with me. Many of you are like members of my family and I claim you all to be part of my family.  So there.  And please, if I ever have bragged or boasted or ever do, please, please tell me.  Because this is never ever my intention.  I still am confused as to where I have bragged or boasted about anything.  Can someone point it out?  And for the d-bag, I’m not including you in this.  You have already had your say and I will hear no more from you.

All my kind friends, sorry for my choice of words, but I’m just being honest here and had to get it out.

19 thoughts on “Negative People Irk Me

  1. Huh? Don’t give any of this a second thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thefeatheredsleep says:

    I value and love honesty and I get tired of the happy cult but why you is there ever a need to knock someone down? Or the meanness of some? I am glad you posted this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tessa says:

    Some people have nothing better to do in life, but try to drag people down. They want attention. Don’t give it to them. If they write you again just delete the comment and ignore it. They are looking for a reply especially something they can come back to.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eve Estelle says:

    Though I’m a new reader here, I’ve not noticed anything like bragging from you. You have a sense of humor, and obviously that’s not going to appeal to everyone, but there’s no need for what he did there. If he didn’t like what you wrote, or how you wrote it, then he could’ve just stopped reading and moved on.

    People never cease to amaze me lol. Honestly, I would’ve done the same thing most likely and posted a little rant like this. Kudos to people who have more tolerance for it – but that first negative comment can really be a hard one!

    Keep up the wonderful writing, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for letting me know that, Eve, and if you ever see bragging, please tell me, because I do not want to ever seem like I’m bragging.

      Yeah, I could care less if he/someone doesn’t like my humor. I can be silly sometimes and I have a serious side. It’s just me. I will never apologize for being me. Yeah, I agree. He should’ve stopped reading and moved on.

      I’m right there with ya. I’m constantly amazed at the gall of some people. They need to lighten up. Get a life. Move along. I am bad about holding grudges but when it comes to someone I don’t know spewing trash, I have my say or ignore them and get over it pretty quickly. I ranted, got it out and I’m over it. I don’t allow strangers to bring me down for long. The haters are mostly meaningless to me. It’s the ones I love and like and have built a relationship with that I allow in. But then those people would have never said such things.

      Thanks so much for the sweet comment. I appreciate you, Eve!

      Like

  5. Ronnie says:

    People with inadequacies have a tendency to criticise other people in order to try to boost their own self-esteem. It never works of course, but it often results in the other person getting angry.
    Once the anger is gone, the other person is back to normal, but they still have their inadequacies.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. udoji75 says:

    I have been following and reading your blog for like three years now and I have learnt a lot from most of your inspiring posts.I have not noticed any form of bragging or boasting in your blog. I am sooo surprise to read that a guy is saying that you brag or boast.Anyway Carol, don’t give a dame fig about what negative people say about you.Good or bad negative people will always have something to say just to bring you down.They are everywhere even in our family. We all know that you are not a brag or that you’re boastful. Keep up with all those inspiring post and God will bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Patrick. Yeah, I’m over what the rude dude said but just wanted to get input from my friends to double check, because bragging and sooo not me. I’ve had my share of run-ins with negative nellies, even in my family. Let them eat pie – the kind from “The Help.” Haha! Thanks for the thoughtful words. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. udoji75 says:

    You don’t brag and you’re not boastful otherwise we won’t be friends. Have a blessed week ahead 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sarsm says:

    I have to say that I’ve noticed a sudden increase in the amount of negativity on the net. I also had my first negative comment a couple of months ago. It’s not very nice at all.

    I read one post where a woman admitted that her mother put her down as a child and how it had affected her self-esteem. It was a very brave post. But some people had written really nasty comments. There was just no need for it – they probably lowered her self-esteem even further.

    My opinion is, that if people don’t like what they’re reading, then they can just click it away, so there is never any need for nasty comments. I think the people that make those comments are people who have problems themselves and just want to bring other people down.

    Continue being yourself and enjoy blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re so right. These negative people are just filled with bad energy, so I suppose that’s all they have to offer. So sad that they have no sense of joy in their lives. They need to go out and get a life and stop wasting their time and ours spreading their bad mojo. Sorry that you’ve gotten hit by a curveball, too. Thanks for your thoughtful and encouraging words!! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

