Finding Vent At My Pen

abigail adams young

“My bursting heart must find vent at my pen.”
Abigail Adams

__________

Ah, yes, we must all find our own specific way of venting, lest we lose our minds.  Some play sports.  Some engage in making music.  Some feel and listen to the music without playing.  Some simply run or go to the gym and work out as often as possible.  Some cook.  Some drink heavily.  Some swear incessantly.  I?  I choose to vent through writing, whether it be through poetry, working on my YA sci-fi/fantasy/adventure novel/series (I promise to share more on this eventually.  I have to finish and get it out there first.), working on some other piece of creative story, speaking through pictures or simply crying.  Sometimes, through laughter and dance.  Yeah, you should see me and Hallie dancing through the kitchen.  We are a couple of silly girls.  I love to cook but I’m not sure I vent through it.  Oh, and sometimes I do swear (a little more than I should) but am finding this does not help much in the way of venting.  I think it makes me more angry.  Mostly, I vent best through writing what I love most, depending on the mood I’m in at the time.  Yeah, wine and cheese help A LOT, too.  😉

We must all find ways of unwinding before we become unhinged.

How do you vent best?

7 thoughts on “Finding Vent At My Pen

  1. Dreamhowl says:

    Like you, I vent through writing. I also play video games to calm me down (or get it all out, like first person shooter games). If I need to really get away, I get lost in a book for a while, or sit to meditate.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love that! Haven’t thought about shooting it out. I might have to try it. And yes, getting lost in a book is grand, isn’t it? I can’t get that still when I need to vent. Wish I could. I feel the need to pound on something. Ha! My keyboard usually absorbs the brunt of it. Reading is magical or can be, depending on the story. Love your meditation idea, also. 🙂

      Like

  2. cobbies69 says:

    I’m still experimenting/looking…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. udoji75 says:

    I vent through sports or listening to music.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

