Irritated by My Own Writing

Gustave“I am irritated by my own writing.  I am like a violinist whose ear is true, but whose fingers refuse to reproduce precisely the sound he hears within.”
Gustave Flaubert

__________

I must admit, this happens to me so much of the time and it makes me a little more insane than I already am, since you know I’m already crazy.  I’m a writer.  I have to be leaning more on the side of insanity, don’t I?  I know what I feel and I can see the scene so clearly but once I sit down to the screen and try to bleed these emotions and images onto the empty white space, words become elusive.  Oh, sure, I can chop some of them up and spit them out but it doesn’t even come close to my inner vision.  Words don’t match the thoughts and feelings.  Try as I may, I still miss the mark in capturing the essence of what flies through my imagination.  At times, I get it out exactly as I see it but more times than not, I am finding myself in my imagination while I’m lost when it comes to tapping the mind for the right words in the right sequence.  I become extremely annoyed with myself in these instances.

What about you?  Do you have this issue?

3 thoughts on “Irritated by My Own Writing

  1. cobbies69 says:

    Like my guitar playing, it is always good until I play it a second time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

