My Ideas, Thoughts and Words Are All Higgledy-Piggledy. HALP!

arthur schopenhauer“One should use common words to say uncommon things”
Arthur Schopenhauer

__________

Such a small quote and yet largely inspiring.  Yesterday was a tough act to follow, but still.  I like it.  Do you love to find interesting, colorful, humorous-sounding words and then look for ways to use them in your writing?  Sometimes, invent a new profound character just so she can have such a vocabulary?  I realize the quote says “…use common words to say uncommon things,” BUT I disagree.

The first rule to writing is to learn the rules, know the rules, then throw out the rules.  I believe WITH ALL MY HEART that we each have our own voice and our own special talent of weaving our words together, be it with common words, which is good, and also with uncommon words, which is also good.  You should write the way you feel compelled to write it.  I mean, common words are great.  Wonderful even.  But the uncommon word – AH, sheer BLISS!

I use words that, perplexing enough, not everyone knows, such as flabbergasted or higgledy-piggledy.  For me, these are common words, but for some people I know, not so much.

I love it!

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

One thought on “My Ideas, Thoughts and Words Are All Higgledy-Piggledy. HALP!”

Leave a Reply

