Saving Us From Ourselves

Alan Watts “Advice? I don’t have advice. Stop aspiring and start writing. If you’re writing, you’re a writer. Write like you’re a goddamn death row inmate and the governor is out of the country and there’s no chance for a pardon. Write like you’re clinging to the edge of a cliff, white knuckles, on your last breath, and you’ve got just one last thing to say, like you’re a bird flying over us and you can see everything, and please, for God’s sake, tell us something that will save us from ourselves. Take a deep breath and tell us your deepest, darkest secret, so we can wipe our brow and know that we’re not alone. Write like you have a message from the king. Or don’t. Who knows, maybe you’re one of the lucky ones who doesn’t have to.”
Alan W. Watts

__________

Write like you mean it.  We all have something to say.  Write as if you are writing for yourself and no one will ever see it.  Write with abandon and leave nothing out.  We all have a story or to share that of our inner characters.  Do you hear voices?  Write what they are telling you.  Speak your truth.  Or theirs.  Whatever you do, just write!

6 thoughts on “Saving Us From Ourselves

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I have finally finished my story and trying to edit the last part.. not bad only taken thirty odd years to get fully written and it is how I originally saw it.. But I never see myself as a writer, a scribbler, a song and lyric writer and poetry maybe.. I have now written four novel length stories two needs editing.. storyline good but quality is questionable..but I dont mind Squidge, very few people will read them. courage to make them public..

    Liked by 1 person

    • You go, boy! I knew you could do it! You are fabulous! Hey, better to finish in 30 years rather than never. It’s a positive. Why do you not see yourself as a writer? You need to start visualizing what you want for your life. See it, view it, take action and be it! You will edit, get feedback, revise, etc. and then find the courage to put it out there, if that’s what you want. I believe in you, man! *hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

      • cobbies69 says:

        most of my problem is confidence.. I have had several bloggers offering to read some chapters and edit with constructive point made.. but I am a little hesitant about it.. one day??? thank you Squidge for your support.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I totally get that. I have the same affliction. I trust you and I both will gain the courage when we need it. Always here for you, Squish! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. christawojo says:

    This quote is it! Thank you. I’m in a hospital waiting room. I will write right here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad you liked it! It really hit the spot for me too! My pleasure, dahlin. Oh dear, a hospital waiting room sounds ominous. Hope whatever it is, they’ll be okay. Yes, indeed, write there. Write everywhere. And may inspiration flow to you and through you to the paper and comp. 😉 Blessings, my dear!

      Like

Leave a Reply

