Journey From Self to Soul

P1050731

I’ve been across the great divide

A journey from self to soul

Much I’ve learned but cannot decide

The single thing that made me whole

 

At once I believed I had peaked

Would the rest be all downhill?

The incline was rigid and steep

Reaching the top, I just stood still

 

I had been blind to my own trail

Couldn’t see beyond the rocks

Couldn’t see through the clouded veil

Couldn’t see past self cast blocks

 

Standing there, I took in the air

Juniper sweet and setting sun

A larger mountain and a prayer

My journey had only begun

 

I struggled through the entire climb

More focused on resulting end

Thinking at the top, I’d win the prize

Instead it’s where I begin

 

Letting go of a place to get to

New purpose to connect each day

Joy be found in the walk and view

And souls embraced bar the way

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

2 thoughts on “Journey From Self to Soul”

Leave a Reply

