As a Writer, Are You a Fool?

roald“A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it.”

–  Roald Dahl

_____

It can be a rather lonely profession at times.  I don’t know about you, but most of the time, I like my alone time, especially if it means I get to have time to write creatively.  Oh, sure, at times, even for work it’s quite enjoyable granted the contract is writing something you’re interested in.  Sometimes, you’re writing technical mumbo-jumbo you couldn’t care less about but it helps pay the bills, huh?  So it’s not all bad.  When you’re actually writing something you love and you’re getting paid for it, aw yeah, that’s the good stuff.  And when you can score a free couple of hours to write creatively for yourself?  Man, that’s gold.  And working from home doing all of that stuff, and fitting it in around family time.  That’s priceless.

Do I sound like a credit card commercial?

_____

Sorry I’ve been out for a bit.  Too much going on – trying to figure out how to do lesson plans for a class, trying to fit in Camp Nano, working on contracts, looking for more contracts, writing for work, writing for fun, family time, cooking, cleaning, walking the dogs, the list is endless.  I’ve not forgotten about my blog and all you cool peeps.  Just running out of time to do everything.  All work and no play makes Carol a dull girl.  Chocolate and wine helps!  😉

So how are all of you?  What’s going on in your world?  Tell me everything.  Gimme the skinny.

Who all is participating in Camp Nanowrimo?

4 thoughts on “As a Writer, Are You a Fool?

  1. cobbies69 says:

    Cyber chocolates and wine being sent… I am giving this months Campo’ a miss, but hopeful for July one.. I am trying to edit my original story and read through it to recap so I can then bring it to and end.. it has been stuck for a few years now,, my original Nanowrimo in 2011, it deserves to be finished giving me four novel length stories…. good luck with your attempt..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, dear brother, you are my hero! My favorite treats!! I don’t blame you for passing on April Camp. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed myself. I know it’s resistance and once I find my groove, it’ll go along smoothly like sliding buck naked over broken glass, but first, I need to get started, eh? Good luck on editing. I know how you feel being stuck on a story for a few years. I’m determined to get one of these suckers finished this time. That’s the plan. Reach word count goal with actual finish/an end and then revise the first week or two of May and have finished product by mid to end May and attempt publication. I mean, I have to! I know you can do it! Get after it, man! 😉 Keep me posted on your progression? *squish*

      Liked by 1 person

      • cobbies69 says:

        I certainly will,, it is a rather boring task reading an editing but I must persevere.if I am to try an finish…. I am glad you have some sort of plan, I know how hard it is to keep to it but one must have a plan of sorts.. I will look forward to your updates…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know the reading and editing part can be a bit tedious. Just pretend you are an outsider reading someone else’s book. It might help you be more objective. It’s hard for me, too. I’ll do my best to post updates. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

