What Rhymes with Camp Nano?

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

If you’re thinkin’ of takin’ part in Camp Nano
Do ya gotta have some sort of planno?
Do you write first to last?
Do you skip and advance?
Do you even want to open that canno?

Do you write science fiction with flair?
Your comedy cause giggle or glare?
Are you a pantser or planner?
Do you call yourself camper?
Or too busy with to-do lists to go there?

Me? I’m gonna give it another go
Will I make it? I simply don’t know.
But I’ll give it my best
Put my muse to the test
And hope and try to come out a hero

I have so many things to write
I pray none of it sounds trite
Have two books in mind
On both I’m behind
So both till the end I will fight

Can I work on two at the same time?
Are you sick and tired of this rhyme?
It’s just about done
Just havin’ a little fun
Before starting and possibly lose my mind
__________

Just a silly little Nano poem.

Are you participating? Camp Nanowrimo is a “Mini Me” compared to the regular Nanowrimo (National Novel Writing Month). Regular Nano is held in November every year, starting Nov 1 at midnight, ending on November 30 at 11:59pm and is traditionally 50,000 words written within those days as a new novel.

Camp Nano is usually held in the months of April and July from the first of the month till the end and can be any amount of words 10,000 to 1,000,000, can be a novel or script or poetry or whatever, new or revision, and you can have bunk mates, I believe up to 12 in a cabin these days. You can choose a private cabin of personally selected mates, choose mates with specific criteria or leave yourself open to let them surprise you with new friends.

You can also opt out of the bunk mates as many of us prefer to focus on our writing and not socializing. I do a bit of both. I’ve met some great people in the cabins with whom I’m still connected today. Some days, I’ll chat it up over s’mores or wine and cheese at the campfire. Other days, I’m quiet and fully focused on pumping out that word count.

What about you? Are you open to apply yourself more to your writing? Dedicate yourself to a certain word count run per day in the hopes of reaching the finish line and being treated to some nice wins and refreshment for yourself? There are many perks that come with winning the race. Interested?

If nothing else, you can make plans to plant your butt in the seat in front of that laptop, desktop, pen/pencil and pad, antique typewriter, whatever your tool is to record your precious gold, and pump out your daily word count and get that sucker down. You can go on to publish, as many Wrimos have and have even gone on to have their gold not only turn out best sellers but movies, as well. Whatcha think? You ready to share your God-given treasure with the rest of the world? ’cause I know we’d love to read it!

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

Leave a Reply

