Don’t Think. Just Do.

First off, allow me to apologize for not posting regularly.  As you probably know, I’ve been overloaded with work contracts so not much time for sleep lately, much less blogging.  I’ve been working with my camera and memory cards to see how long I can record footage for my upcoming project.  I’m working on the name.

I started off with Meaning of Life and then I did a search and it was already taken.  It’s not like an email address where it’ll tell you, “Sorry, already taken.  Choose another one.”  Nope, you can have 10 YouTube titles/names that are all Meaning Of Life as long as your username is different, which makes no sense to me.  So, then I did a search for Meaning of Lifers (since it’s about the peeps anyway) and that was available so I changed it.  I had to make sure I could get the lonely title, so that was step 1.  I can actually change it once or twice more within 90 days if I choose.  I’m thinking of Meaning Of Life Project (molp) or Meaning of Life Initiative (moli) or just keeping it Meaning of Lifers.  You can’t find it though until I upload my first video unless I list the link.  It doesn’t show up in search until it receives a ranking, obviously.

Now, I’ve filmed my first practice interview and I’ll be playing with my editing software and then maybe, just maybe, depending how long it takes me to initially figure out how to edit the “movie,” I’ll be ready to go out and talk to real people Monday or Tuesday!  Ack!!!  Still got to do a couple of things this weekend, and I pray I get time, as I still have a ****load of work for pay I have to do.  I need to check out release clauses I need to put in a paper for them to sign (stuff like “I give you permission to use and publish this footage,” “I expect no compensation for this footage,” blah, blah, blah, stuff like that.), organize my few questions I have for them, figure out how much footage I need from them (since I’m gonna edit a lot of space out to shrink it down to about a 5 minute space, roughly), so just a few small things to do first.

It’s getting close!!!!  I’m soooo nervous!  It’s a nervous, anxious, excited, happy energy.  Weird, right?  Something new.  Approaching strangers.  Actually talking to people and not hiding behind written words but spoken ones.  I think I may hurl.  At least I get to hide a smidgen behind the camera and will be editing my voice out of the “movie,” so that’s comforting.

So Monday or Tuesday (with a little help from my Friends — talking to You, God, and You, Jesus, and all you helpful angels and sweet spirits), I could be uploading my first YouTube video ever, or first video of any kind (well, online anyway).  Oh my!  I have butterflies in my tum just talking about it.  If you are praying people, and I know most of you are, please offer up a prayer on my behalf that I get time to do all this stuff and do well and get to interview, edit and upload by Monday or Tuesday?  Pleeeeaaasssse?  I still cannot believe I’m doing this.

Just a few months ago, I had the vision and I thought it was just a passing dream, something that would be fun to do (it was actually driving all over the U.S. talking to people) and I even thought it would be a great Kickstarter project (kickstarter.com) but then I thought, ‘Oh, then I’d have to film myself, talking to the camera (the people) and telling them why I needed money for this project and I’m really not comfortable being in front of any camera, much less asking people for money,’ so I brushed the dream aside.

I couldn’t stop thinking about it and what a great idea I thought it would be to talk to all these interesting people, get outside my comfort zone and just do it.  Besides, it’s not about me.  It’s about them and their stories, their views, their meaning for life.

I have a really, really, really bad habit of thinking too much.  Way, way too much.  I think good ideas away.  I let all the hard stuff and negative stuff override the fun, happy, excited energy.  I think of all the ways it would be impossible or too hard to do something.

I have a new motto.  “Don’t think.  Just do.”  What an invigorating way to live!!!!  Who am I?  I don’t think I even know myself anymore.  Oh well.  I just won’t think.  I’ll do.  😉

4 thoughts on “Don’t Think. Just Do.

  1. udoji75 says:

    May God crown all your effort with success.Amen ! I will keep interceding on your behalf. Good luck !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cobbies69 says:

    Go for it,I say.. braver person than me… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I think you are brave. I have allowed fear to run my life for the majority and I am fed up with it. Time to do something different and a little scary and courageous! Time to SHAKE THINGS UP! While we are still alive, it’s never too late.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

