Questions for YOU

I think I’ve spoken about a vlog idea I had in a previous post or two.  Perhaps not.  But I know I’ve talked about getting outside my comfort zone and I’ve taken a bit of action on this.  I’m about to take some more.  Yes, I’m going to start a vlog.  Or attempt to anyway, with the participation of strangers.

So, I need a few things first…

If you know anything about vlogging, about editing videos, about how to approach strangers and interview them, please send me in that direction.

And just to get me set on which particular questions to ask, what would YOU feel comfortable answering and sharing with the world?

1.)  What is the meaning of life, for you?

2.)  (especially for youth but for everyone) What do you hope to do/accomplish in your life?  (i.e. go to college, get married, have a family, be a doctor, be a writer, climb a mountain, live in Paris, be a Nobel Prize winner, or anything that comes to mind.)

3.)  What does love mean, to you?  (i.e. for a significant other, for how you wish to be loved, friendship, family or just in general; again, anything that comes to mind)

What other questions do you feel would be thought provoking that you wouldn’t actually mind sharing with the world?

My thoughts on this are to ask questions and not so much give them direction with their answers but for them to speak their truth from their own mind and thoughts, without judgment.

Do you have anything about your personal story that you wouldn’t mind sharing?

If I get enough people to participate, I will learn how to establish a YouTube channel as well as post on my blog, either here, or begin a new one.

I have several purposes for wanting to produce this vlog.  First off, it came to me in a vision.  I daydream a lot and this came to me while driving, if I remember right.  To go up and speak to just anybody and ask them questions would definitely be taking a great leap outside my comfort zone as I’m halfway terrified of people, because I’ve faced off with several crazies in my life, and I halfway love people, because certain ones restore my faith in humanity on a daily basis (just yesterday, the lady in front of us paid for our breakfast, so we passed it on).  People surprise me.  Everyone has a story.  I feel if we all share our stories with the world, it makes the planet feel a bit smaller.  When we hear the stories of others, it puts our own lives in perspective, makes us realize how blessed we are, makes us feel not so alone, makes us sympathetic to others’ plights and increases our capacity to love and reach out to those who need us, whether it’s a smile, a handshake, or a conversation.  No matter how you slice it, we all need people.  We all need each other.  And we can argue this point till we’re blue in the face but I think, deep down, you know it’s true.

I also want this to be a G-rated vlog, so that it can easily be viewed by young and old, all races and religions (or lack thereof).  So if, in fact, I receive profanity on the video, it would be edited/bleeped out (with their knowledge and permission).

Any thoughts?  Advice?

10 thoughts on “Questions for YOU

  1. Allison says:

    Woop! Awesome, Carol! Best of luck in your new endeavor – sounds amazing!! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cobbies69 says:

    Good luck with this venture,, I had thought about it a year or two ago, but do not feel I am good on camera so as for now have never done it… A musical vlog also on mind.. but probably stay in my imagination.. Look forward to yours if you manage to do one…I do follow a couple that do vlogs. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I’m not gonna be the one on camera. I’ll be the one hiding behind the camera. The person being interviewed will be the only face and voice on camera. I’ll be editing myself out so I’ll have them contextualize everything. It’s not about me. It’s about them.

      The musical vlog sounds really cool. If you ever decide to do it, I’ll be watching/listening and I’m sure many others will, too.

      I just have a couple of things I need to figure out first and then I’ll start my vlog. May be a month or so maybe. Might be sooner. Work is piled up.

      Thanks Gerry! 😉

      Like

  3. Colline says:

    I have no advice but only best wishes for success Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. udoji75 says:

    You have great ideas Carol ! I have two advices about your project of vlog. Firstly, you have to make your vlog very active and regular.Anyway,I can trust you on that. Unlike me, I am not regular even in my blog 🙂 and secondly as you get along, go into patnership with youtube and so anytime an ad is posted in your video, you get paid for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, you’re so sweet, Patrick. Yeah, I think I’ll be posting around once per week, or at least try to. First, I’m trying to learn more about this vcam and editing software and just practice interviewing friends and family before I go out into the faces of strangers. I just hope this vcam is good enough. We’ll see.

      Oh, I didn’t know that about YouTube. I do have a bit of research I need to do first. Hopefully, I’ll be posting my first blog sometime in November. Need a couple of weeks to get around that learning curve. Thanks for the tips, my friend! 😉

      Like

  5. udoji75 says:

    And best of luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

