What Have You Learned From?

Learn was the prompt from yesterday.  I may not follow each and every daily prompt, just fyi, but this is a good one.

I believe this is one of our larger purposes on the planet — to learn.  If we only talk less and listen more, really listen, not just to our school teachers but all the teachers there are in life that surround us, we, we would gain much knowledge.  We can learn from our children.  I know I’ve learned more from my child than I have probably taught her.  She has taught me to love more, to see more beauty, to notice it.  She is the one who taught me how to forgive.  I talked about this in an earlier post but the short of it is that I watched her forgive someone who wronged her.  She decided she was going to make that person her friend.  Instead of being angry at the person or holding a grudge, like I had always done, she forgave that girl and she made her a friend.  When I saw that, I cried.  How could I continually hold grudges and hold onto such anger and resentment after she showed me how easy it is to forgive.  It never had been easy for me.

So, around that same time, God decided to test me and sent around a guy who terribly wronged me years earlier.  He was afraid to face me but had the courage anyway, so I got out of my car and talked to him.  We talked for 20 minutes and somewhere in the midst of our conversation, I realized I’d forgiven him.  And now, since that time, I’ve forgiven several people that wronged me, from the past to the present.  It feels so empowering, so liberating, so freeing.  It feels like you let go of a 100 pounds of weight from your back and shoulders and heart.  You feel lighter.  It’s not only a gift you give to someone else but more of a gift you give yourself, because to experience forgiveness, whether to accept it or gift it to someone else, it strengthens your connection and bond to God, to Jesus and even to yourself, as well as others — maybe even to the universe (energy).  It frees the flow of your pent up energy and you can breathe easier.

Not only from your children can you learn (and both the good and bad from your parents).  You can learn from the trees.  They stay planted and rooted deep within the earth, one of their greatest loves, their home.  They bend and they sway in the breeze and the storms.  Some of them might be washed away.  Some break down.  But most of them stay strong and though they may hurt and pieces may break from them, the whole of them stands firm.  They continue to grow and thrive and become strengthened for making it through the storm.

We can learn from the butterfly, flying free among the air.  They let the wind carry them.  They’re so light and joyful.  They start out crawling and are slow in movement and motivation except to eat and lay around.  Then, by a great miracle, it prepares itself for change and takes action (builds its cocoon) and should not be disturbed.  It’s a lengthy process and you might even believe it died in there, because it takes so long (we raised a caterpillar into a butterfly), digests itself and then after all its morphing work is done, it breaks free of it’s cocoon/shell/house, pushes it’s way through while strengthening itself and emerges a beautiful butterfly, and once its wings dry, it flies free.  What a beautiful thing to witness and learn from.

There is a lesson in everything.  Even within ourselves, we each have a story, we each have learned something valuable we can teach others.  If it is just to love or offer a kind word or give freely without expecting something in return, we are teaching someone else.

What have you learned from?  A parent?  A child?  The earth?  A tree?  The wind?  A book?  Witnessing a stranger?

5 thoughts on “What Have You Learned From?

  1. Colline says:

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. I believe God sends people into your lives to teach you something – all you need to do is be open to the lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cobbies69 says:

    There might well be lesson in everything one does, the hardest bit is recognising and heeding.. but yes otherwise I so agree…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. udoji75 says:

    One can only reap what he/she sows and so I have learnt that when one is good,he/she receives good in return….. I absolutely agree with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

