Who’s Doing NaNoWriMo?

For all you writers out there, who is thinking about or fully committed to participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) or just who should be fully committed?  🙂

Some might think those of us who join in the chaos of writing 50,000 words in 30 days need to be in the loony bin but I, for one, am totally psyched about it and counting down the days till the writing frenzy begins.

Those of you who are going for it, let me know and I will help to get you prepared beforehand, will cheer you on during the madness and have a throw down dance party extravaganza in your honor when you reach that finish line before the deadline.  I’m making my list of one handed snacks needed, will be fully stocked on caffeine for the mornings and late nights, as well as a nice sweet red and extra sharp cheddar when I feel the need for a little liquid courage or a celebration for reaching my daily word count goals.

So, who’s with me?!  We are gonna rock the clock!  Deadlines?  No problem.  Daily word count goals?  No problem.  Missing sleep?  I’ll be right there with you.  Bloodshot eyes?  Got Visine on hand to help you out.

33 days, baby!

12 thoughts on “Who’s Doing NaNoWriMo?

  1. Me! I’m doing it properly for the first time! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so awesome! I will cheer you on. I’ll be sending out my prep list a couple of weeks before it starts just to share how I get ready. Maybe it’ll help. It’s a bit crazy but so much fun. It’s exhilarating! You will feel soooo accomplished each day when you reach your word count goals and it’s a pretty amazing feeling when you get in all 50,000 before deadline. 🙂

      Like

      • That sounds great, I would love to read it! I am so excited to give it a try. I love the way that writers all get involved and help each other forward, such a wonderful sense of community.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m so psyched! Can you tell? haha! It’s so fun to participate. After you finish, you feel soooo accomplished! Especially, if you finish the book and all you have to do is revise. As writers and anything else we do in life, if we can’t help out others and act with a sense of community, what good are we? It warms my heart to know there are so many out there that feel the same way. There’s enough room out there for all of us to be successful and we should all be celebrated for even putting forth the effort of reaching for our dreams. I look forward to cheering you on and I’ll meet you at the finish line. The countdown is on! 32 more days! hehe! I’m downright giddy.

        Like

      • Me too!! I’m so nervous because it seems like such a mountain but at the same time I can just imagine, after 30 days of struggling through, how wonderfully uplifting the end must be. I’ve tried a few write-ins before and I loved them! Will be keeping up with your posts 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • It is a little stressful but mostly good stress. I’ve not done any write-ins, though I’d like to. Thanks and I’ll be keeping up with yours. 😀

        Like

      • You should definitely try a write in! And then tell me what you think 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will try to make time for this in November. 😉

        Like

  2. Jen Danger says:

    I’m doing it for the first time and I’m slightly scared, quite excited, and still not sure what to expect!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Jen, you will have a blast! No need to be scared. The main thing you should remember is that Nanowrimo is an awesome exercise in daily writing. It’s there to put our butts in the chair or couch or porch swing or wherever it is you write (I write in those places and more) and to set daily word count goals. It helps us defeat writer’s block. It helps us to move forward and put in more words, not look back and revise (revision is for after Nano). If you are interested in cabin mates, you can sign up for that. It’s where you ‘bunk’ with 7-11 other Wrimos and you can share tips or talk about what you’re working on or just chat and make some cool new friends. I met a chick on there about a year ago when I did either Camp Nano or regular Nano and we are still friends today. There are several different boards/forums to find help and information or join in chats about different things, different genres, etc. The main thing is to set aside the time daily to get in a certain word count. We want to get 50,000 words within 30 days, so our goal should be no less than 1,667 words per day. I try to shoot for 2,000 so I can stay ahead of the game and finish early or at least stay ahead in case there’s ever a day I cannot write. Make sure you get quiet time set aside or set yourself an environment which is conducive to concentrating and writing. I usually write super early in the morning while my daughter is still sleeping. I work from home, so I usually work after I take her to school. You might prefer to stay up late to write. Whatever works best for you. I’ll do a post about 2 weeks before Nano starts to help with preparation. I’m so proud for you. This will be a great experience for you, I’m sure — lack of sleep and all. Some Wrimos have gone on to publish their Nano work and have become best sellers, for which the books have also been expanded to film. You’re next, sister! 🙂

      Like

  3. cobbies69 says:

    I have been thinking of doing it, been prepping with my short stories etc but after going through my previous Nano’s might try to finish off my Birth of the Wizard Prince..After getting a Nanowrimo email yesterday inspired my second idea, even though I have enough of other.. Either way will try it again…

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome, Gerry! Go with your gut. Finish something. That’s what I’m doing. If I cannot finish Book 1 of my Cursed series (I keep renaming the title and probably will stay undecided until I finish it) before Nano starts, I will definitely work my butt off on that book during Nano. I realize you’re supposed to start something new as stated in the rules, but…well…you know us and rules! haha! I look forward to cheering you on and I’ll meet you at the finish line, my brother. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

