133-145 = What is the Meaning of Life?

Day 11 of 365 days of the 5,000 Question Survey – the next 13 questions (if you’d like to join, please see the link in my post from Sept 18th or just the link:

133. Would you rather be a world political leader or a rock star? Neither but if I had to choose, I’d say rock star. I would not wish to be responsible for decision making for the world and I hate politics – mostly, the crooked politicians.

134. Have you ever given someone a love letter that you wrote? Yes, of course.

135. Have you ever sent someone a surprise though the mail? Yes, many times.

136. Are you looking forward to any concerts right now? Not really. Not many of the great concerts come to Mississippi.

137. Of all animated movies, which is the best one you’ve ever seen? Hmm… I suppose I’d have to say Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron, although there are several I love.

138. What are the best bands or songs to listen to while driving? Anything by Bryan Adams, Switchfoot or the Eagles, many by Bon Jovi, some by Taylor Swift, some by Lorde, and many, many others. Not big into country music but Miranda Lambert is very talented, as is Tim McGraw and Lady Antebellum.

139. What do you think is the most amazing thing that anyone has ever accomplished? Jesus, going through all he went through — all that pain and suffering, just to save us low lifes.

140. What could a member of the opposite sex do to impress you? Actually listen and remember what I’ve said. I’ve known one man to ever do this. He was my best friend. A guy that could actually be himself, rather than put on a front, is impressive to me. A guy that can be a true gentleman as well as be honest and make me laugh and be my best friend — this impresses me. Hard to find. I think what I’ve come to love best about a guy is his ability to make me laugh. Laughter truly is the best medicine.

141. About how many emails do you get a day? I do not have the time to count them all. Too many.

How many of those emails are junk mail? Many are junk.  Many are subscriptions.  Many are members from groups I belong to.  I’ve unsubscribed and blocked most of the junk mail.

How many of them are forwards? I do not get many forwards these days as most people who know me know I will not forward unless it’s extremely funny, adorable or beneficial for someone else to read.

142. What’s your favorite thing to do online besides write in your diary and hang out at this site?  I do not write an online diary nor hang out at any one site more than another.  I supposed my favorite online thing to do is read, research and write.

143. Do you believe Kurt Cobain (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kurt_Cobain ) killed himself or was it a conspiracy?  He killed himself.  No conspiracy.

144. Have you ever thought about hitchhiking across the country?  Hitchhiking, never.  Road trips across the country, yes.  I think it would be cool to photograph and write about each place, taste the popular foods from each area, tour the special sites and talk to the locals as well as video them and display it all on a vlog/blog.  This is the only vlog I think I would ever do.  Not interested on being on cam, myself, but I’d like to get others on cam.  One question I think I’d tape others answering would be, “For you, what is the meaning of life?”  It could be as short or as long an answer as they’d like to offer.

145. Who would you bring with you on this kind of a road trip?  My daughter and my mother.

 

And just wondering…  For you, what is the meaning of life?

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

10 thoughts on “133-145 = What is the Meaning of Life?”

  1. Well, that will definitely differ to others, but for me the meaning of life is to find out my ultimate purpose here on this planet, which when I met my guru many years ago, he pointed me in the right direction. Now to explain what that direction was, will be too complex even for me to explain and my pea brain is falling asleep already lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it most interesting to hear what different people’s opinions are, especially when it pertains to their meaning for life. Everyone’s life is different: their goals, their dreams, what it means for them to be alive, their belief systems. I, too, want to find my ultimate purpose on the planet. Oh, how I’d love for you to share what that direction was if you happen to get that pea to a more awakened state. LOL! I feel ya. I’m still working on my coffee and just about to reach my quota for the day. Still not awake. Happy Monday?

      Like

      1. I will most definitely be happy to share with you. I think I become very shy when it comes to that kind of question, as one never knows how others will respond or take the revelation. But because you put that out there in the ether already, I will only be too pleased to share with you. I just need to get my brain in order. The radiation from my laptop can fry my brain out, so I will rest a bit, go for a walk along the canal and then get back to you shortly. 🙂 You’ve inspired me to share, so thanks for asking. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s awesome. I eagerly await your response. It thrills me to hear what other people think and feel. I find it inspiring and enlightening. I do understand the shyness when it pertains to that type of question. We all, or probably most of us, are so concerned with how others will take us. I think we should care a certain amount what others think but only to an extent. I think when it comes to how we each see and feel things, it’s good for us to share with others as we might be helping them see in a different and perhaps brighter light, if that makes sense. You never know who you might help by sharing.

        Yes, I need to step away from my laptop, as well, but I am working on a piece of poetry and it’s just easier to type it. But, ya know, you have now inspired me to step away anyway. I believe I’ll go sit in my porch swing with a tablet and scribble my thoughts and words onto that and type it later if I come up with anything worth typing. 🙂

        Like

      3. OK, so I’m back after a nice long walk, little bit of dancing to Simply Red ‘life’ album, had something to eat and now feeling a little more recharged.

        I wish to share a link with you for free online reading, which I don’t give to everyone and anyone, simply because the author of the book (s) I will guide you to, is a dear bosom friend of my spiritual master who both have departed this world respectively. These books or rather ancient, yet timeless Vedic texts, are not easily available to the general mass, because we (I) come from a path or accurately, a way of life, which is aloof from all the created religions that have sprung up over time in what we call, the iron age of Kali-yuga, which is saturated with both gross and refined deception to the highest degree. Hardly any substance left.

        Back in the 60s when people were so fed up nonsense, a breath of fresh air of popular known Krishna Consciousness came to soothe peoples’ hearts. It’s as though that time has come again, because everyone, including the animals know that this modern society full of so much turbulence and throes, is not exactly peace on earth; never mind the ‘goodwill to all men.’ Makes your heart bleed to not only witness the pain of it all, but to also be in the ‘happening.’ So, when I met my guru more than fifteen years ago, he truly opened my five senses to what the meaning of life is, which is the title of your blog.

        Here is the link:http://prabhupadabooks.com
        Scroll down to the book called ‘The Science of Self Realization.’ Click on that and it will open up the chapters of the book. Then click on SSR 1 ‘Learning the Science of The Self’ and it will answer that very question or questions you asked. The beautiful thing with the Vedas, is that they answer all our questions and doubts about existence. It’s just that they are so vast and diverse, that without an expert guru who knows The Absolute Truth, in truth, it is almost impossible for a person to go searching in them, as they are like an intricate maize in which one can easily get lost.

        I hope you find it insightful and you can always browse the others, whichever one tickles your fancy. The Bhagavad-Gita As It Is, is spoken directly by the Supreme Personality of Godhead Himself, five thousand years ago when He appeared in erstwhile India. That text is the preliminary text for understanding self, higher self and creation.

        I hope the perusal will bring some satisfaction to your heart. Feel welcome to ask any question, anytime. Wishing you well and thanks again for asking. It is said in the Vedas, for anyone to come across these teachings, is truly a fortunate soul. 🙂

        My (our) way of life is called the Gaudiya Vaisnava path, but that is something for another time. You will not find my guru’s books (which are even more rare to find) on the link I gave you. But what’s there, is more than enough for now or even one lifetime. 🙂

        Like

      4. I adore Simply Red. I so look forward to checking out that link/book. Hopefully, I will get time today or tomorrow. I will let you know what I think. 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing that with me. I believe we can learn from everyone. Each person has so much to teach. Some people have deeper realizations and wisdom and enlightenment. I feel we must share what we know and what we feel to be our truth. Just because someone else might think and feel differently and have differing beliefs doesn’t mean they can’t be helped by our knowledge/vision. Again, thank you, friend. 🙂

        Like

      5. You are absolutely right. Knowledge/realisation is for sharing and that’s the basis of our teachings. In gratitude to my guru, I’ve learned a lot over the years, but I’m still learning everyday, because as long as there is life, there is room for improvement on our quality of life.

        Simply Red brings back nostalgic memories for me, why I love his album so much.

        Have an insightful read and we’ll chat again. I’d love to hear your thoughts 🙂 Have a wonderful day. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

