14-26 of the 5,000 Question Survey

Day 2 (a day late) of 365 days of the 5,000 Question Survey – the next 13 questions (if you’d like to join, please see the link in my post from Sept 18th or just the link:

14.  How do you handle a rainy day?

With an umbrella.  Duhr.  🙂  I love rain.  I love to crack the windows just so I can hear the drizzle or storm better.  It gives me a clean soulful feeling as if God is wrapping me up in his love and presence.  That’s the only way I can describe the feeling.  Rain and storms and the oncoming of the storm clouds make me feel closer to God somehow.  I love how the dark stormy blue backdrops the vibrancy of the trees and grass in the foreground.  It’s so brilliant how the angry sky lights up all that green!  I just prefer to not drive in the rain when it’s dark.

15.  Which is worse…losing your luggage or having to sort out tangled holiday lights?

For sure losing my luggage!  I’ve never lost my luggage but I would imagine that would be 100 times worse than sorting out tangled holiday lights.  I mean, seriously?

16.  How is your relationship with your parents?

With my bio-father, I don’t know that I’d consider him a parent.  I mean, it takes a certain skill set to be a parent, don’t you think?  And he has none.  Haven’t seen him since ’92 and I’m thankful for it.  My step-dad was my dad and he was a joy!  What a loving man he was!  He respected my mother and loved her with everything he had. He treated me like his flesh and blood and we miss him every day.  He journeyed to heaven Valentine’s Day 2002.  I’m thankful my daughter was able to know him for her first 2 years.  She still remembers him (thank You, God) and I know he watches over us and pays us visits.  My mom lives just next door and she is one of my very best friends.  I’d be lost without her.  She’s my rock.  She keeps me grounded.

Will you miss them when they are gone?

Indeed, I miss my dad every day.  I do not want to ever imagine my mom not here.  When she goes, much of me will go with her.  I love my leeetle cutie patootie.

17.  Do you tend to be aware of what is going on around you?

At times, yes.  I try very hard to live in the moment, be present and mindful each minute.  Other times, I believe myself to be oblivious.  I’m working on this.

18.  What is the truest thing that you know?

That God and Jesus love us with an unending and unlimited  and unfailing love and they want us to follow them so we can, one day, all be together at Home again.

19.  What did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was a wee one, I remember wanting to be a super hero, a hairdresser and an actress.  When I was about 6 or 7, I wanted to be a writer/book author and a secretary and I was already a storyteller.  I would sing and tell stories that I made up to my dolls and stuffed animals.  Now that I’m grown, my daughter has called me her hero a few times, so I guess I can claim that.  I’ve cut her hair and mine, so I guess I can claim that.  I got over the actress thing real quick.  I am still a writer and forever will be. And I was a secretary for many years.

20.  Have you ever been given a second chance?

Yes, and a third and a fourth and…and…and…

21.  Are you more of a giver or a taker?

Not sure about this one.  Maybe equally a giver and taker?

22.  Do you make your decisions with an open heart/mind?

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.  I’m protective of myself and my family and I’m pretty guarded, so sometimes I make decisions out of fear, which I know is not the best way to make decisions.  At times, I can be open.  Maybe not as often as I could/should be.

23.  What is the most physically painful thing that has ever happened to you?

Physically?  When my daughter or mother has been hurt or are hurting, it hurts me physically.  I suppose the most painful thing I can recall (much of my childhood has been blocked from my mind) is when I had mononucleosis.  I was in the hospital and couldn’t eat or drink.  It felt like someone was constantly stabbing me in the throat with blunt knives.  I remember crying and begging my mother to kill me, to please smother me with my pillow.  I just didn’t want to take that pain anymore.  Compared to natural childbirth, labor and delivery is a breeze.  And yes, I had Hallie naturally and wouldn’t change a thing.

24.  What is the most emotionally painful thing that has ever happened to you?

Losing my daddy.

25.  Who have you hugged today?

My mother (she paid me a visit this morning) and my daughter.  Oh, and my dogs.  One of our dogs hugs back.  He is the sweeeeeetest thing!!!!

26.  Who has done something today to show they care about you?

My mom, daughter and dogs.  My mom and daughter hug me, kiss me and tell me they love me.  They smile at me.  They wave at me, even if we are just crossing the yard. My dogs kiss me and one of them hugs me.  The dogs also lay there watching me.  They always have love in their eyes (Mama, Hallie and our dogs).

5 thoughts on “14-26 of the 5,000 Question Survey

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I would be similar to a few of your answers,, it would be my mother,, and I wanted to be a musician.. a popular one. etc

    Liked by 1 person

  2. udoji75 says:

    An answer to question 21: I think I am more of a giver than a taker. I receive less most of the time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

