No Happy Ending? Hmmm…

Julia“You always get more respect when you don’t have a happy ending.”
― Julia Quinn

__________

Can I get your opinion on that statement?

Would you have a story end happily, leaving you filled with joy, laughter and resolution, or would you rather have the story end in tragedy, sorrow and broken-heartedness?

Or would you rather it end unended so as to request a reading of the next book in a series, if there is one?

Or would you wish to be left wanting, haunted by not knowing, wondering, to perhaps leave your imagination wandering in the misty fog?

__________

My answer depends upon the mood I’m in.  If I need joy and I’m searching for happiness, yes, gimme the happy ending, even if it brings tears.  I’ll take the tears of joy any day.

If I need to cry, because I’ve had nothing but a tormented, stress and anger filled day/week/month and I cannot bring the tears, then bring me tragedy, although this could lead to drinking, but anyway…  I do love a story that can both make me laugh and cry and to end in tragedy is more realistic, isn’t it?  I mean, how many get the happily ever after, right?  It would be nice, though.  It angers me sometimes when you hope and wish and pray for the characters to get their happy ending, and then they don’t get it and it’s over.

I always like a book to haunt me, to leave me wondering and gets my imagination revved up and going wild!

I do like a book to leave you on the edge of a cliff, after you’ve slipped off and all that has you hanging on is a skinny twig of a stick poking out from the dirt and rock.  You have to stay there until the next book in the series comes out, to hopefully gain some relief, get back on solid ground, take a cold shower and celebrate with a bottle (or two) of a nice sweet red.

 

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

10 thoughts on “No Happy Ending? Hmmm…”

  1. It depends on where I am in life and the content of the work and not whether it ends happily or tragically but how it ends happily or tragically. Was it abrupt? Was the ending consistent with the characters? Did the writer just have enough like Seinfeld and send all the characters to jail? I like endings I did not like when I was younger, endings that are not the end because that is how life is and it gives me freedom as you say to imagine what comes next. Nice post, it got me thinking!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t believe in happy endings – wait, just keep reading.

    In every story, at least one of the characters is changed forever. They lose somethings, they gain somethings, and then the story ends. No ending is ever just happy, there is always more to it.

    Most endings are, if not tragic, then at least bittersweet. There is always loss, even if the entire stories ends on a happy note.

    Fairy tales excluded. That’s a whole other ordeal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Makes perfect sense.

      Changed forever. Hopefully, the reader is changed forever, along with the character. I love what you had to say.

      Oh and fairy tales? Not always happy endings anymore. The television series ‘Once Upon a Time’ has put a spin on the happy endings sort of thing. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

