Let’s Go Bawling

Moved to Tears is today’s prompt from The Daily Post.

Here’s the idea:  Do movies, songs, or other forms of artistic expression easily make you cry?  Tell us about a recent tear-jerking experience!

__________

My daughter and I recently watched Saving Mr. Banks and Heaven Is For Real.

Saving Mr. Banks is not at all what I expected.  You start out thinking this person needs to be shaken.  Then you begin to learn their back  story and understand why they are the way they are.  You cry for them because if you have a heart at all, you feel their pain, their suffering, not just from the tragedies of their youth, but for the baggage they continue to carry to this day.  I could see myself in the main character.  I could see how my own childhood demons have been carried throughout my life through bitterness, distrust, longing, separation, aloneness, fear, depression, lack of self confidence and self love, among other things, later to finally learn forgiveness and what it means to let go, at least from some of those demons.  I cried for her.  I cried for me.  I cried for all the people of the world who carry their inner child so heavily.

Towards the end of this movie (and I try my best to never spoil it for anyone else who hasn’t seen it), I rejoiced with and for her.  I wept tears of joy and was so proud of her.  It made me cry for me, too, as I know I’ve come a long way, especially since I finally learned the art of forgiveness.  Yes, finally, after years and reaching adulthood, and having my child, it was my child who taught me forgiveness.  You forgive and you let it go.  And you find joy and peace and it feels as if you’ve lost the weight of this whole other person – you get the monkey off your back, so to speak.

Mind you, a person may not always be completely healed of every sin committed against her but she can be always in the process of healing.  And some afflictions can be completely healed, once you learn forgiveness.

And oh my goodness, Heaven is for Real was an amazing movie!  I just adore Greg Kinnear in everything I’ve ever seen him in anyway, so that was the first piece of awesomeness.  Most anything related to miracles, God and Jesus, I am also interested in, as I have experienced several miracles in my own life, as well as feeling the physical presence of a Heavenly Host.  This movie moved me to tears firstly due to the thought of ever losing a child.  Just the thought that a child could come so close to death broke my heart.  And it pained my heart for every parent in the world who has ever lost a child.  That is a pain and a loss from which I don’t believe you could ever recover.  It would break me.  And so, for this, I bawled my eyes out.  At just the thought.

And then what this beautiful child experienced was beyond words really.  All I can say is that if you haven’t seen it, I fully recommend it.  If you need to further or deepen your belief in Heaven, in God, in Jesus and angels, this movie is for you.  If you need to see what I believe to be the face of Jesus and strengthen your faith, this movie is for you.  I mean, I already believed and nothing could make me waver.  And I already knew Jesus was beautiful.  But it always helps me more to hear miraculous stories from others.  It shows me that God/Jesus are still alive and well (I mean, duh!) and creating miracles for people all around the world every single day and it never gets old.

16 thoughts on “Let’s Go Bawling

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I shall keep my eyes open for these, after my experience last Xmas, operations an all, my beliefs have changed and outlook certainly more positive… you keep it going, no matter what…thank you 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gerry, I think you would love them. I’m so happy to hear your outlook is more positive. I know you had a rough road last Christmas. I’m glad you are on the other side of that now. My faith is tested daily but my belief is always in tact. I only wish good things for you, my brother. Love and hugs to you and the girls. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. granonine says:

    Forgiveness is one of the biggest issues I work on with my clients in my counseling office. I’m glad you have found the peace of letting go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I had issues with forgiveness until I reached 39, when my 8 year old taught me by example when she forgave a teammate for being racist against her and proceeded to make the girl her friend. I was blown away. I had never forgiven before. But after seeing that, how could I not? Just shortly after, I ran into someone who wronged me terribly years before and he chose to face me, even though he knew I should have jumped him. hehe! Long story short, learning forgiveness changed my life. Forgiving and letting go, especially re family members and my childhood, has helped my inner child to heal — not completely there yet — lots more work to do but I’m always a work in progress.

      Love to hear you help others with learning forgiveness. If we could all just forgive and let it go, there would be peace all over the world. It’s not just a gift we give others. It’s a bigger gift to ourselves. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Colline says:

    I have seen neither of these but, if they moved you to emotion, they must be well acted. I have been moved to tears with some movies – not only me but my husband too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. udoji75 says:

    Are they two separate movies,that is, Saving Mr Banks and Heaven is for real?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, two separate movies. ‘Saving Mr. Banks’ is a movie centered around the development of the Mary Poppins film. The main characters are Tom Hanks as Walt Disney, Emma Thompson as the author (P. L. Travers) of the Mary Poppins stories and Colin Farrell as the father of the young P. L. Travers. I would consider the movie a drama/comedy. You will laugh and you will cry, so have some tissues handy. This movie is the story of actual life events. Be sure to watch the credits for photos and commentary of the actual people (from back in the day).

      ‘Heaven is for Real’ is the other movie. It’s a movie also based on the (true life book) experiences of a young boy (Colton Burpo) and his family (Pastor Todd Burpo played by Greg Kinnear, Todd’s wife and daughter) and really the whole town (and later affects the world as news gets around). I don’t want to ruin anything. I’m not a movie/book spoiler. Basically, the young boy visits heaven, explains what and who he sees in heaven and is faced with much skepticism (some from family, the church, the world) but things that he has seen cannot be explained away. It touched me deeply. If you are a Jesus follower, which I know you are, this movie is surely for you. If anyone out there lacks faith or belief, this movie is for them too. It also shows what I believe to be the beautiful face of our sweet Jesus. Whether people believe it or not, I think it’s a must see film.

      Like

      • udoji75 says:

        I got the french version of “Saving Mr Banks” which is not subtitled. I think I will understand it more in English and so I will wait until I get the two movies in english.I live in France and everything is frenchy 🙂 Thanks you so much Carol.You are the best 🙂

        Like

      • Wow, yeah, I wouldn’t understand 2 words in French. A beautiful language, though. I love to hear people speak French. I’ll be eager to hear your thoughts on the movies when you are able to see the English versions. 🙂

        Like

      • udoji75 says:

        ok and I hope to speak french to you some day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Merryn says:

    I loved “Saving Mr Banks” – so much, that I watched it twice :). I got something new out of it each time. Thankyou for writing it about it – I had forgotten about the movie and how much I enjoyed it! I must watch “Heaven Is For Real” – haven’t seen that yet and always looking for an inspiring movie. Glad it strengthened your faith- just beautiful reading about the effect this movie had on you xo.

    Like

    • Hey Merryn! So glad you loved it! It really was a great movie. 🙂 I know what you mean. Every time I watch a movie or read a book again and again, I get something different out of it each time. That’s really cool, isn’t it? I think you’d enjoy Heaven is for Real. When you get a chance to see it, I’ll be eager to hear what you think about it. You are a sweetheart! *hug* xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. […] universe and everything – Rest without peace 28. A lot from Lydia – Insentient 29. adjustingyourfocus – Let’s Go Bawling 30. Agility|Leadership|Wisdom|Sharing|Learning – Movies that Moved me 31. A Girl In Solitude […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

