I Salute You, Minimum Wage Workers

Nightmare Job is today’s prompt from The Daily Post.

Here’s the idea:  In honor of Labor Day in North America, tell us what’s the one job you could never imagine yourself doing.

__________

I think I’ve had all (or most) the nightmare jobs.  I’ve worked for attorneys for over 20 years but I prefer to never do that again.  I’ve worked for high strung, belligerent, unappreciative ass-holes (not just attys) and I prefer to not do that again.  I’ve been a carpet cleaner.  I’ve worked for a printing company.  I’ve worked in the Air Force (some jobs being fun and some not so fun dependent on who your commanding officer/supervisor is at the time).  Some of these jobs paid awesomely but the stress is not worth it.  At.  All.

When I was younger, I worked in fast food restaurants, gas stations/convenient stores and video rental places.  I worked in a grocery store deli, making doughnuts and decorating cakes.  At least the decorating cakes part was fun.  Oh yes, I’ve scraped the bottom of the barrel, so I know what it means to appreciate what I have.  I’ve gone unemployed living off my savings and cashed in retirement plans.  When I say I’ve scraped the bottom of the barrel, I don’t mean to say those jobs are not honorable.  I’m saying, I hated those jobs – some of them, anyway.  But when you are putting yourself through school 8-2 M-F, you don’t have many options where you can find hours of 3-11 M-F + weekends.  You do what you have to do to pay for tuition, books, rent, and food.

As of now and for a while now I’ve had the wonderful opportunity of working from home which is one of my life’s biggest blessings.  Two contracts/clients, I adore.  Another one, not so much.  When you have to pay the bills and buy food, you deal with it until a different client gives you more ongoing work.  You have to look for the silver linings.  You work from home.  You can actually spend time with and raise your child.  You can pay bills and buy food and pay your child’s tuition.

What could I never imagine myself doing?  Hmmm.  I would not want to be a garbage person, picking up other people’s garbage, and riding on the back of those trucks.  I would not want to clean other people’s houses, scrubbing their toilets, and scraping their food and spit off their dishes.  Again, not to say these jobs are not honorable; they’re just not for me.  I would prefer to never work for attorneys again.  Does that count?  I would prefer to never go back and work for some of the devils I’ve worked for in the past (not just attorneys).

I’d prefer to never work in a fast food restaurant again nor a convenient store.  The crap you have to put up with for minimum wage?!  It’s not worth it.  But I suppose if that job is the only thing available, you take what you can get if you want to pay the bills.  I’ve done some of these jobs so I don’t suppose I can never say never.

You do what you have to do to survive.  Especially when you have children.  You find work.  You earn a wage.  You have to feed your children.  So for all you people out there who have less than your ideal job, for as hard as you work for very little money, I salute you.  I’ve been where you are, although at the time I did those jobs, I didn’t have anyone but me to support.  So to scrape together every dime, nickel and penny to feed and clothe your kids, I salute you for doing what you have to do to help your family.

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

3 thoughts on “I Salute You, Minimum Wage Workers”

Leave a Reply

