Before The Break of Dawn

P1140203The Daily Post’s prompt for today is New Dawn.

Here’s the general idea:  How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise?  Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

__________

So, I posted this photo yesterday on my blog since it was so inspirational on the way to school.  So funny that today’s prompt is New Dawn.  It fits.

My daughter and I rise at 0:dark:30 every morning to get ready to go to school.  She’s a typical teenage girl in the sense it takes her 2.5 hours to get ready.  I’ll admit it took me about 2 hrs to get ready when I was a teenager.  Some of you might remember the 80’s with the big hair.  I hot rolled mine every morning, put on way too much makeup (and badly, I might add, since I never had any instruction on application back then).

My daughter doesn’t roll her hair.  She sometimes uses a straightener (hot iron), although I’m not really sure why, as she already has straight hair.  Hmmm.  Oh, believe me, I’ve asked her and she says, “My hair’s not really straight and the straightener makes it straight and smooooooth.”  😉  Okay.  Well, sometimes she doesn’t do anything to her hair and it looks pretty much the same to me.  So whatever.  Whatever makes her happy, I guess.  She does wear makeup but she does it in such a way that it doesn’t really look like she’s wearing much makeup, if any.  That’s good actually, as I would not allow her to walk out the door looking like a freak (like I did back in the 80’s), but I haven’t figured out what takes her sooooo long.  I’m sure my mother wondered the same thing when I was her age.

So anyway.  We get up at 4am.  Monday thru Friday.  I get coffee.  Lots.  Of.  Coffee.  And get her bath water ready (as she is still recovering from knee surgery and can’t do all the bending yet).  It takes me about an hour to get ready these days.  Sometimes I fix breakfast.  Sometimes I don’t.  It all depends on if she’s hungry or not.  Sometimes the girl eats like a man and other times, she’s just not hungry in the mornings.  Lack of breakfast doesn’t hurt her as she has always excelled in school.  Gotta feed the furbabes (2 dogs and a cat).  Gotta fix her lunch and pack it up.  Gotta get her to school by 7am for Driver’s Ed, which is the first hour before real school starts.  And then I go back home to work.

I love the views in the morning on the way to school.  There are 3-4 different routes we can take and this drive is, by far, the best.  I’ve posted several pictures of this drive on my blog in the past.  Fields are filled with fog cascading over the rolling hills, hanging like a veil, blanketing the sleeping trees, so quiet and peaceful and cozy.  I could just drink it in.  It’s the best part of the day, watching the sun rise, watching the world wake up and breathing in the life of a new day (or one of the best – I like stormy skies and starry/moon filled skies too).  It shows me that beauty abounds everywhere at every time of day and we should look for that beauty and appreciate God’s masterful artistry.  I know it fills my heart with joy.  I hope it does yours.

Y’all have an inspired and beautiful day.  😉  *smooch*

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

6 thoughts on “Before The Break of Dawn”

    1. Hallie has not yet colored her hair and I don’t think I’d actually allow her to, although maybe a streak or two of color might be kind of cool. I love her natural dark blonde color. She does do different things with her hair though. I’ll have to upload a photo of one of her latest style choices. She braided one part and looped it over the top of her head, with the other side hanging down in sort of a low pony tail. She’s always so stylish and finding new things to do with her hair. I’ve seen some of those pics of Ellie’s hair. Very cool.

      Like

  1. Have a beautiful day! Haha, I remember in the 80’s – I would literally get out the Aqua Net and scare those bangs up something fierce! lol 🙂

    I’m with you, love the mornings and the fog rolling wispy over the fields. Beautiful imagery you conjure!

    Peace, love and light ~ Allison

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

