What Would You Do?

Work? Optional! is today’s prompt from The Daily Post.  If you join us in this challenge, you are sure to have a great time!  It’s tons o’ fun.

So, this is the idea:

If money were out of the equation, would you still work?  If yes, why, and how much?  If not, what would you do with your free time?

__________

Oh, wow, if I didn’t have to worry about money?  How awesome would that be?!  Would I still work?  Yes.  In a sense.  While I love my contracts and the different hats that I wear, I would transition someone else into those positions and I would simply work on my books.  My first love, after my family of course, is writing.  I’ve been working on a book series since about October/November 2013.  It actually started as one book and then turned into 3.  Now, it’s 4 since the backstory came into my head.  The story before the story and that will continue to be book 4.

I would simply work on my books and attempt at publication, I think.  The whole idea is simply to earn money from my books.  I have NEVER wanted fame and I don’t care to be filthy rich.  To be comfortable, to not have to worry or struggle with money issues and take a nice vacation once or twice a year is all I care about where money is concerned.  So, if money were out of the equation, I’d have to rethink the whole publication thingy.  Hmmmm.  That’s a really good question.  In many ways, I believe these voices talk and sometimes scream in my head because they need their stories to be told.  I suppose I’d be doing them a disservice by not sharing their stories with others as they are beautiful characters and their stories are both tragic, unexpected and breathtaking.  So, okay, yes, I’d attempt to publish the stories.  Can you tell I think as I write?  Hope ya don’t mind.

How much would I work on them?  Well, it’s safe to say I’d have many other items on my To Do list but here’s part of my To Do list if money were out of the equation:

1)  Family first, so cooking more, more fun family time, road trips at least one weekend per month, maybe more, cook more with my daughter.

2)  I’d probably write about 4-6 hours a day at the very least M-F.  Then, I’d spend at least an hour on Saturday and on Sunday.  I think when you are a writer, the lust for writing/typing words is just rushing through your veins constantly.  This is why it’s so difficult at times for me to stay focused and stay on task when I’m working on something other than writing.  Ideas come into my head.  The voices start talking and I have to suppress them to get my jobs done.

3)  What else would I do?  I’d work in the yard more.  It’s all I can do to mow the grass and I really love to mow.  Hey, I’m a country girl.  What can I say.  I even miss bush-hogging!  So, yes, I’d mow as soon as the yard needed it, I’d keep things trimmed up nice and fresh and clean, I’d garden.  Oh my, how I miss gardening!!!  We used to have corn, tomatoes, peas of all kinds, peanuts, cauliflower, broccoli, potatoes, and on and on, and Mama (further over on the property) had strawberry gardens.  We’d have strawberry shortcake, strawberry homemade ice cream, everything strawberry!  Fabulous!!!  I miss shelling peas, shucking corn, all of it.

4)  I’d make more time for volunteering and take my family with me.

And those would be the top 4 on my To Do list, although, I’m sure if I sat here for another 30 minutes, I could come up with several more.

So, what would you do?

4 thoughts on “What Would You Do?

  1. Colline says:

    I would certainly worry less about things like paying the rent, etc. and spend more time being creative 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I think when you are a writer, the lust for writing/typing words is just rushing through your veins constantly.” – I love this line! I agree with you 1000% 🙂 Great post – has me thinking!

    Peace to you,

    Allison

    Like

Leave a Reply

