Name o’ the Game… or Car

The Daily Post has delivered its daily prompt:  The Name’s The Thing

Have you ever named an inanimate object?  (Your car?  Your laptop?  The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis.
__________

I have indeed named a few of my cars, though not all of them.  This 2002 Ford Explorer I’ve been driving since around April of 2002, I named Stormy Blue.  That’s what she looks like, so it became her name.  She’s my favorite color for a vehicle.  She’s a beaut!  We have been through a lot together and though I may never own another Ford Explorer (Shhh!  Don’t tell her), she’s still getting us to and fro and we’re thankful.

My laptop occasionally has a nickname, I’m a bit embarrassed to admit.  Hi Ho Silver.  Yes.  “Silver” for short.  (Some o’ you young’ns may not get The Lone Ranger reference but that’s ok.)  I call him.  I actually call him.  As if he might actually answer me.  ‘Silver?!  Where are ya, boy?’  I’m not right.  I know this.  And yes, he walks off and hides, because I thump him daily.  Poor little dude is tired of getting poked and tapped on.  I find him in my bedroom, sometimes hiding beneath my bed.  I find him in my office, sitting in my chair.  I find him in the living room, laying around on the couch, and sometimes sprawled out on the floor.

Hmm…  What else?  Of course, I had 3 dolls and several barbies when I was younger and they all had names.  Duh.  (I believe I still have them packed up somewhere.)  I’ve had a few stuffed animals throughout the years and all of those have had names.  I actually held on to a couple of those.  I’ve had Peaches, The Wonder Dog since I was about 3 years old.  He made me happy when I was sad and he made me better when I was sick.  He’s held lots of tears through the years along with a lot of germs.  And yes, I finally washed him after reaching adulthood.  It’s amazing he never made me sick.  Also amazing is how he didn’t fall apart when I washed him.  And then there’s my Honey.  I bought him when I was pregnant with Hallie.  My hub wasn’t the most talented person at comforting me, so I got my little squishy and soft Honey dog and hugged him all night long and crazy at it sounds, he made me feel better.  Am I crazy?  You don’t have to answer that.

2 thoughts on “Name o’ the Game… or Car

  1. […] a Writer, Yes I Am Edith; La Petit Orignal Seriously Just Saying Betty Boop, My New Best Friend adjustingyourfocus Name o’ the Game… or Car Awake & Dreaming Naming My Stuff Musings of a Soul Eclectic “The Whale” nglish All You […]

    Like

  2. […] a Writer, Yes I Am Edith; La Petit Orignal Seriously Just Saying Betty Boop, My New Best Friend adjustingyourfocus Name o’ the Game… or Car Awake & Dreaming Naming My Stuff Musings of a Soul Eclectic “The Whale” English All […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

