Where Does Your Heart Reside?

“For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

– Matthew 6:21

__________

Where is your treasure?  What is your treasure?  I have many, many treasures.  The first that come to mind are the most loved people in my life; those that make life worth living, worth waking up in the morning, worth smiling, worth struggling — those are the ones that I love more than the air that I breathe.  Hallie and Mama.  My two best friends in the world.  I can go anywhere in the world and I’m home as long as they are both with me.  They make me want to be a better person.  And they make me feel loved every day of my life.

And then, there’s Jennefer, another best friend.  It’s so nice to have a friend that knows me and likes me anyway.  We understand each other because we have many of the same things and life experiences in common.  We are both Christians and believe in strong family morals.  There’s nothing I can’t tell her.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a friend quite like her.  She’s the kind that hears you, gets you and doesn’t judge you on what you say.  And we are uplifting and encouraging and supportive with everything that the other does.

More treasures would be our furbabies!  Life is not complete without furballs around us!  We love our Buddy, Lilly and Tiger!

And tea!  Oh my goodness, I love me some hot tea and honey.  Right now, my favorite is this mixture I found at Teavana when we were (I think it was going through Knoxville, TN) on vacation.  It’s a mixture of Pineapple Kona Pop and Blueberry Bliss.  I call it Blueberry Pineapple Pop.  It’s heaven in a cup!  The fragrance alone is worth spending 5 minutes breathing in its deliciousness.  If you love tea, I highly recommend.

And creative writing!  That is something I pray I can live off of one day and that alone.  Right now, I have writing contracts but it isn’t the kind of writing assignments I dream of.  Plus, I have other contracts which I truly enjoy and my clients are awesome and amazing people.  However, writing books is where my heart lives.

Oh, and reading.  I love to read.  Especially J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, H. G. Wells, J. K. Rowling as well as many others, but I do love fantasy/sci-fi/adventure the most and that’s also what I love to write.

I have so many treasures in my life.  These are just a few that are at the peak of my huge mountain of blessings, treasures and loves.

What are some of your best treasures?  Where does your heart reside?

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

7 thoughts on “Where Does Your Heart Reside?”

  1. This is quite an interesting post. Another way of getting to know you even more.Well for me, I treasure my mom so much because she is the best mother in the world but as for friends I haven’t found a trustworthy one. Vanilla lipton tea is my favorite tea and I like its soothing savour. I I share the same passion for reading like you. As a chritian, my most important treasure is going to be the God-found wife for me when I shall eventually found one. These are just the few for now. Have a beautiful day Carol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, thanks Patrick. It’s awesome that you have a mom you can treasure. I know how ya feel. 😉 As far as the friends thing, yeah, it took me 40 some odd years to find my best friend. I’ve had many friends but none as kind, compassionate, Christian, encouraging and supportive as Jen. It’s worth the wait and nice to finally find that friend that relates so well because we understand each others issues as we have sooo much in common. I pray you will find such a friend one day and your heart will be open to it. I’m not a trusting person as I’ve had many friends betray me so it’s nice to be able to finally trust one. That vanilla tea sounds wondermous! I also pray God sends you your lovely wife. Great things come to those who wait. I’m divorced, and happily so, but I’d marry him a million times again just to receive the gift of my kiddo. She’s my biggest blessing. You have a beautiful day, too! 😉

    Like

  3. Again, another” good for you” post. I am evolving as I am exploring the many avenues leading to the treasures I love and believe are important to me. I believe this post unveils the wonders and beauties the Universe aligns as One with All beings, I believe there is a great love between man and woman who’s calling is to pave a way for the light to shine on their equality. I believe love, honor, respect, peace, and joy harmonizes the unity we all someday hope to see. I love unraveling the power gifted within me to be blessed sharing my writings uplifting and helping others. I love I have each moment to find something to love and know I can choose LOVE.
    Thank You

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

