The Zombie Apocalypse is Here

zombies

Picture Thursday:

Mama and I took Hallie to get her knee surgery. Bless her. Good drugs in the ole IV, nerve block — she was flying higher than fireworks on the Fourth of July. She was feeling no pain. She and I had a few nice chats before they took her back and we had some good laughs. I’m sure everyone back there was wondering what was so funny. The kid is freakin’ hilarious without drugs. So you can imagine her drug-induced humor. Crazy Eyes!! Then surgery. Then recovery. Ugh. Bad dreams and tripping, tears. You might can imagine. Time to go. She screams Chick-fil-A, same as last time. Yeah, same surgery on the other knee 7 months ago. Onward to buy a late lunch and make the usual stop at Seattle Drip for her strawberry smoothie and Mama’s and my dark chocolate and hazlenut frappe with an extra shot of espresso and whip. Thank ya, Lord, for heaven on earth. Stop and buy drugs (the legal kind). And home.

Fast forward to Friday:

Pain pill and ice every 4 hrs. Advil every 4 hours in between the pain pill and ice, so up every 2 hours around the clock. Drugs forcing her to sleep, which is a good thing, then awake in a drugged zombie-like state. I’m so out of it, I don’t know whether to feed the dishes or wash the pets. Tried to work but as soon as I start, you know the thing your eyes do when you’re a mixture of tired, sleepy and a bit out of your mind from lack of sleep? Yeah, the glazed over drugged-out look? Sort of zombie-like? That’s me. Crazy eyes!! They start out at half-mast, then I try to stretch them open wide as if that’ll help make me alert. I can’t focus on work. Tried to nap with her. Then, I think of all the stuff I need to do, so I can’t sleep either. So, here I am, walking like a zombie through the house (picture tank, shorts, unbrushed hair, unbrushed teeth, unwashed face with yesterday’s left over makeup and… Crazy Eyes!!), tending to her, and then coming back to pull blank stares at my computer screen. So, why is it so easy to just blah-blah-blah on the computer, talking about life in general, yet I can’t work? It’s easy stuff, too, mostly. I guess my head is simply not in the game.

Yes, the Zombie Apocalypse is here and it’s at my house. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

(Photo courtesy of goodreads.com)

One thought on “The Zombie Apocalypse is Here

  1. udoji75 says:

    Do not be afraid. Please be strong because the Lord is your strength.

    Like

Leave a Reply

