Plagues on Livestock, of Boils and Hail

Exodus 9 (paraphrased)

 

The Plague on Livestock

Again, God asked Moses to go to Pharoah and tell him again to let his people go and if he refuses, he will bring a plague on all his livestock in the field.  No animal belonging to the Israelites will die.  God set the time for the following day.  So, Pharoah, of course, did his usual.  And God kept his word.  This didn’t change Pharoah’s heart.  Oh, so he actually had a heart?  Doesn’t seem that way to me.

The Plague of Boils

God asked Moses and Aaron to take handfuls of soot from a furnace and have Moses toss it in the air in the presence of Pharoah.  It’ll become fine dust over all of Egypt and festering boils will break out on all the men and animals.  So they did and it happened.

The magicians couldn’t stand before Moses for all the boils that covered them.  Still, Pharoah was unyielding.

The Plague of Hail

Then God told Moses to get up early, confront Pharaoh, tell him, “Let my people go so they can worship me or else I will send the full force of my plagues against you and all your people, so you will know there’s no one like me in all the earth.  I could have wiped you and your people off the planet by now.  But I’ve raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.  This time tomorrow, I will send the worst hailstorm that Egypt’s ever seen.”

“Tell all your people to bring your livestock and everything you have in the field to shelter, because the hail will fall on every man and animal in the field and they will die.”  Certain officials of Pharoah who feared the word of God did as he said.  Those who ignored God left their slaves and livestock in the field.

The Lord told Moses to stretch his hand toward the sky so hail will fall all over Egypt and he did.  The hail beat down everything growing in the fields, every man, every animal and stripped every tree.  It did not hail in Goshen where the Israelites were.  Pharaoh called Moses and Aaron and said, “This time I have sinned.  The Lord is right and I and my people are wrong.  Pray to the Lord.  We’ve had enough hail.  I’ll let you go.”

Moses said he’d pray and the hail would stop but he also knew that Pharoah and his officials still didn’t fear God.

The flax and barley were destroyed but the wheat and spelt were not since they ripen later.  Moses left Pharoah, prayed and the hail and rain stopped.

And, you guessed it, Pharoah pulled his same ole stunt.

Wow.  Talk about hard-headed, he takes the prize for that one.

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

Leave a Reply

