Signs for Moses

Exodus 4

(paraphrased)

Moses said, “What if they don’t believe me and say, ‘The Lord didn’t appear to you’?”  The Lord told Moses to throw his staff on the ground, so he did and it became a snake.  Then the Lord said, “Take it by the tail.”  So Moses grabbed the snake and it turned back into a staff.  (Freakin’ cool, right?!)  The Lord said that would be proof that the Lord has appeared to him.  (Om.  Yeah!) 

Then the Lord asked Moses, “Put your hand inside your cloak.”  So Moses did and when he took it out, it was leprous, like snow.  “Now put it back into your cloak,” he said.  So Moses did, and when he took it out, it was restored. 

Then the Lord said, “If they don’t believe you after the first miraculous sign, they may believe the second.  If they don’t believe these two signs or listen to you, take water from the Nile and pour it on the dry ground. The water will become blood on the ground.” 

Moses said, “I am slow of speech and tongue.”  The Lord said, “Go and I will help you speak.”  But Moses said, “Lord, please send someone else.”  Then the Lord’s anger burned against Moses and he said, “What about your brother, Aaron the Levite?  I know he can speak well.  He’s on his way to meet you.  I will help both of you speak and will teach you what to do.  He will speak to the people for you, and it will be as if he were your mouth and as if you were God to him.  But take this staff in your hand so you can perform miraculous signs with it.”

Moses Returns to Egypt

Then Moses went back to Jethro, his father-in-law, and said, “Let me go back to my own people in Egypt to see if any of them are still alive.” Jethro agreed.  The Lord had said to Moses in Midian, “Go back to Egypt, for all the men who wanted to kill you are dead.”  So Moses took his wife and sons, and started back to Egypt.  And he took the staff of God in his hand.  The Lord said to Moses, “When you return to Egypt, perform before Pharaoh all the wonders… 

(And I do not understand anything in this next paragraph but I’m so stinkin’ tired so my brain has quit for the day.)

…But I will harden his heart so that he won’t let the people go.  Then say to Pharaoh, ‘This is what the Lord says: Israel is my firstborn son, and I told you, “Let my son go, so he may worship me.” But you refused to let him go; so I will kill your firstborn son.’ ”  At a lodging place on the way, the Lord met [Moses] and was about to kill him.  But Zipporah took a flint knife, cut off her son’s foreskin and touched [Moses’] feet with it.  “Surely you are a bridegroom of blood to me,” she said.  So the Lord let him alone. (At that time she said “bridegroom of blood,” referring to circumcision.)

The Lord said to Aaron, “Go into the desert to meet Moses.” So he met Moses at the mountain of God and kissed him.  Then Moses told Aaron everything the Lord had sent him to say, and about the miraculous signs he told him to perform.  Moses and Aaron brought together all the Israelite elders and Aaron told them everything the Lord told Moses.  He also performed the signs and they believed.  And when they heard the Lord was concerned about them and had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.

_____

I will go back tomorrow and do further study on that paragraph I couldn’t follow and try to better understand.  If anyone can enlighten me, feel free.  Any ideas?  Thoughts?  Opinions?

Leave a Reply

