Moses and the Burning Bush

Exodus 3

(paraphrased, of course)

Moses was tending Jethro’s flock (it says it’s his father-in-law, but I thought his name was Reuel??) and led the flock to Horeb, the mountain of God where the angel of the Lord appeared to him in flames of fire from within a bush, although the bush didn’t burn up.  Moses wanted a closer look at the strange sight and when the Lord saw he had gone in for a closer look, God called to him from the bush, “Moses!  Don’t come any closer and take off your sandals, because you are standing on holy ground.  I am the God of your father, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”  Then Moses hid his face, because he was afraid to look at God.

The Lord said, “I have seen the misery of my people in Egypt, so I’ve come down to rescue them from the Egyptians and bring them out of that land into a land flowing with milk and honey — the home of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites.  So now, I’m sending you to Pharoah to bring my peeps the Israelites out of Egypt.”  But Moses said, “Me?  I’m nobody.  How am I to go to Pharoah and bring them out of Egypt?”  And God said, “I’ll be with you.  And this will be the sign that it is I who have sent you:  When you’ve brought them out, you’ll worship God on this mountain.”  Moses asked, “Suppose I go to them and tell them you sent me and they ask, ‘What is his name?’  What should I say?” 

God said, “I Am Who I Am.  You tell them, ‘I Am has sent me.  The Lord, the God of your fathers — of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob — has sent me to you.’  This is my name forever and by which I’m to be remembered for all generations.  Go, assemble the elders of Israel, tell them what I’ve told you.  The elders will listen to you.  Then, you and the elders go before the king of Egypt and say, ‘The Lord, God of the Hebrews, met with us.  Let’s take a 3-day journey into the desert to offer sacrifices to the Lord our God.’ 

I know the king will not let you go unless a mighty hand compels him so I’ll stretch out my hand and strike the Egyptians with all the wonders that I’ll perform among them.  Then he’ll let you go.  I’ll make the Egyptians open-minded toward this people, so when you leave you won’t go empty-handed.  Every woman is to ask her neighbor and any woman living in her house for articles of silver and gold and for clothing, which you will put on your sons and daughters.  And so you will plunder the Egyptians.”

__________

Okay, so I understand everything here except the two different names of Moses’ father-in-law.  In the earlier chapter, his name was Reuel, and now it’s Jethro?  I need to look into this.  If anybody knows what’s what, please clue me in?  And many thanks!

Prayer request?  Anybody?

Be blessed,

– Carol

Leave a Reply

