Back in the Bible

Yeah, so, I left off of the ole’ Bible study back in March and I believe I stopped after Genesis 43-46.  If I’m wrong, please holla!  I will pick up where we left off and then readjust my “Reading the Bible in 365 Days.”

Genesis 47

Joseph brought his father and 5 of his brothers before Pharoah.  They had traveled from Canaan with their flocks, herds and everything they owned as the famine was severe there and they were wanting Pharoah to allow them to live in Goshen.  Pharoah agreed and told Joseph to give them the best part of the land and if any one of them had special abilities, to allow them to attend Pharoah’s livestock.  Jacob (Joseph’s father) came in and blessed Pharoah and they had a lovely chat.  Joseph also provided his father, brothers and all members of the household with food, according to the number of their children.

Now all of Canaan and Egypt was wasting away due to famine in the region and all of the people used their money for grain.  So, now, they had no grain and no more money.  They came before Joseph to ask for food.  Joseph told them to bring their livestock and he would give them food in exchange.  They gave him their horses, their sheep and goats, their cattle and donkeys.  And he provided food for them through that year.

After that year had passed, the people came before Joseph again saying, “We have no money, no livestock and no food.  We do not wish to die of starvation nor see the lands go to waste.  Please let us sell our bodies and our lands to you in exchange for food and seed so we may live and the lands may survive.  So they sold themselves and the lands to Joseph for Pharoah and he owned all of Egypt and the people became his servants so that they might eat and live and plant seed and produce on the lands.  However, he did not buy the land of the priests, because they received a regular allotment from Pharaoh and had enough food from that. 

Joseph told the people/servants to give a fifth of their crops to Pharoah and the other four-fifths to keep as seed for the fields and food for themselves, their households and their children.  Joseph made this law concerning land in Egypt–still in force today–that a fifth of the produce belongs to Pharaoh.  It was only the land of the priests that did not become Pharaoh’s. 

The Israelites settled in Egypt in Goshen.  They acquired property and increased in number.  Jacob lived in Egypt 17 years, and he lived to the ripe old age of 147, although perhaps not as long as many who came before.  When the time drew near for Israel to die, he called for his son Joseph (remember Jacob was also known as Israel.  Confusing much?)  and said to him, “If I have found favor in your eyes, put your hand under my thigh and promise that you will show me kindness and faithfulness. Do not bury me in Egypt, but when I rest with my fathers, carry me out of Egypt and bury me where they are buried.” “I will do as you say,” he said.  “Swear to me,” he said. Then Joseph swore to him, and Israel worshiped as he leaned on the top of his staff.

That’s it for today, y’all.  Confusing how many peeps in The Book have more than one name.  And the deal with placing a hand under the thigh to make a promise.  I wouldn’t recommend trying that one today unless ya wanna get knocked out.  Pinky swear maybe?  A handshake?  Give your word?  Spit on it?  I’ll pass on that one.  How important do you feel people’s promises are today?  Do we mostly keep our promises to others?  To our family members?  To friends?  To those who ask us to make a promise?  I’m curious what you think.  Chime in, won’t you?

Oh, and I’m planning on posting every day, even with my insane schedule.  I figure God/Jesus and His Good Book need a solid following and so I shall do just that and do my utmost to accomplish this daily, along with working my contracts, going through Camp Nano during the month of July, chasing after my 14 year old, cooking, cleaning, ya know, everything we Super Moms do.  😉

Love to you all, smooches and go with God.  Ciao!

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

2 thoughts on “Back in the Bible”

  1. Hey adjustingthefocus, nice to have you back.

    Nowadays, people even your families and friends make lots of empty promises that they can’t keep.I use to believe but nomore because it all ends up in disappointment. Believe and have faith in God because it is only God that promises and do not fail and God’s word’s is Amen.

    Have a great weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Patrick. Thanks.

    Yeah, I totally get that. You can’t really trust any person, not even yourself. I’ve let me down plenty of times, not keeping promises to myself. You can still love, though, even without trust. And forgive. Yes, God keeps His word and never fails on His promises. Just hard sometimes to keep that faith strong. It’s a work in progress, minute by minute. But when He comes through for you in your time of need, it’s a great reminder that we can rely on Him.

    You have a great week, my friend!

    -Carol

    Like

Leave a Reply

