Camp Nano April 2014

2014-Participant-Facebook-CoverMy apologies for missing so many days from my Reading the Bible in 365 Days and Bible study/blog.  I am planning to return either today or tomorrow.  Trying to finish up some work before I start a new chapter in my life.  Also, (and yes, I’m probably biting off a bit more than I can chew but now that’s not different from any other day is it?) I am joining in on this upcoming Camp Nanowrimo.

The first camp nano of the year begins April 1 and I have been completely missing my creative outlet.  I’ve been too busy working on everyone else’s projects but no time to work on my own since October or November, so on April 1, it will be back to me time.  Yay!  I don’t usually appreciate missing sleep but when it comes to something I’m excited about, it’s not a problem for me to get up at 3am or even 2:00 to start writing (are you like that?), coffee pumping intravenously and a granola bar on stand by.  So, it’s so great to have a couple of things in the works to be excited about!

I had been working on 2 different novels back in October/November:  1) my series – books 1 and 2 (sci-fi/fantasy/adventure) filled with a mixture of nonmagic folk, a magical realm, witches, vampires, a girl with unfathomable powers and unknown to her until a tragic series of events occur and the veil is torn between the magic and nonmagic worlds; and 2) a book on depression and God.

I had been drawn for months toward the nonfiction novel on depression and God but the more I talk to people about both, I’ve decided people are still not ready to deal with their depression.  They don’t want to honestly discuss it, like it’s taboo or something — at least the majority; some seem to think if they ignore it, it will go away; they certainly don’t want to read about it and many that are deeply depressed (as we all FEEL on different levels) don’t want to read about God.  Those people who say they do not suffer from depression but have people in their lives that do suffer — well, they try to just avoid those people altogether or deal with them if they don’t have a choice but are not that interested in reading to understand something that they feel might depress them.  I sense some underlying depression issues right there.  They don’t want to understand it.  So, I suppose until I figure I have a potentially larger readership for that particular novel, I will sit that on the back burner and work on the one that many have expressed more of an interest in.  It seems just about everyone I talk to has an interest in reading books comprised of magical/fantastical components; adventure; mystery/intrigue/suspense; tragedy, etc., so my fantasy series is the better option for now.

Camp Nano runs April 1 through 30.  I currently have over 51,000 words on book 1 and I’ve moved several chapters to book 2 but mostly, that’s just copied and pasted gobbledy goo.  I’m needing to revise book 1 and add 10,000-20,000 words to finish, I believe, or somewhere in there.  My goal is to spend Apr 1 & 2 revising and days 3-30 adding 10,000 plus words during camp and hopefully finishing book 1.  Then, May 1, begin the processes of revising again and again, polish, employ my beta readers while organizing my query letters and choosing which houses to submit to, consider opinions from betas, perhaps revise again, then submit queries and ultimately, publish.

What book would you find more interest in?

Are you participating in Camp Nano during April or maybe July?  If so, I hope to see you there.  Perhaps we can chat by the campfire with our s’mores and tell ghost stories.  😉  It’s not too late to join.  You can join anytime during the month of April by clicking here.

Drop me a comment.  I’d love to chat with you.

14 thoughts on “Camp Nano April 2014

  1. cobbies69 says:

    Carol.. Goodluck with your venture,, I did reply to message on facebook.. I have registered but do not think I will be writing,, but never know.. all the best with your attempt I will look for updates… 😉

    Like

    • Hey Gerry! Thanks. Too many irons in the fire. I need to hurry and get myself organized and get some stuff out of the way. Ugh. Sorry I haven’t responded and I’m so behind. I know I need to catch up with all my friends. Good luck if you do participate and even if you don’t, I will be thinking of you and I hope that you are well. I will go read to see what you’ve been up to. (hug) 😉

      Like

  2. udoji75 says:

    All the best and have fun 🙂

    Like

  3. winterbayne says:

    Glad you found me! I’ll follow you during camp! Carolinagrace at camp by the way if you need anything send a note.

    Like

  4. I think the fantasy book is more commercial whereas the one on depression and God is more towards a target market. I think some people are a bit uncomfortable about religion but I think over-all, the book on depression and God seems more helpful. Good luck with Camp. I’m participating as well. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

