Jacob Steals Esau’s Blessing

Day 28 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days

Hallie’s at her dad’s this evening, so I’ll be doing tonight’s Bible study & blog on my own and catch her up tomorrow.

Genesis 27 – Isaac had become so old that his sight had failed him.  He asked Esau, his firstborn, “Go hunt some wild game and prepare it the way I like and serve me so that I can give you my blessing before I die.”  Rebekah overheard the conversation and she quickly tells her son, Jacob, about it and to go fetch 2 young goats from the flock so she can fix Isaac some tasty food just the way he likes it and Isaac can give Jacob his blessing.  Jacob says, “But surely he’ll know I’m not Esau, as Esau is hairy and I am smooth.  He’ll know I’m tricking him and I’ll be cursed rather than blessed.”  So Rebekah says, “May the curse fall on me,” and clothes him in Esau’s clothes and covers his smooth skin with goatskins and gave him the tasty food to serve to his father.  He fools Jacob and so Isaac blesses him saying, “May God give you of heaven’s dew and of earth’s richness– an abundance of grain and new wine.  May nations serve you and peoples bow down to you. Be lord over your brothers, and may the sons of your mother bow down to you. May those who curse you be cursed and those who bless you be blessed.” 

Jacob left and then Esau came with his wild game that he had prepared for him.  Isaac was very angry and told Esau that he was already ate the wild game that had been prepared for him and his son was blessed.  Esau burst out with a loud and bitter cry, saying to his father, “Bless me–me too, my father!”  Issac said he had blessed his brother instead.  So Esau blamed Jacob for first, taking his birthright, and now, his blessing.  But he still questioned his father for a blessing but Isaac had nothing for him.  Then Esau wept aloud.  Isaac answered him, “Your dwelling will be away from the earth’s richness, away from the dew of heaven above.  You will live by the sword and you will serve your brother. But when you grow restless, you will throw his yoke from off your neck.”  I’m guessing this means when he can’t take one more minute of serving Jacob, he can finally break free of him.

Esau held a grudge against Jacob for what he had done and had planned to kill him.  Rebekah told Jacob of his plan and sent him away for a time to stay with her brother Laban in Haran.  Once Esau’s anger subsides, she will send for him to come home.  She tells Isaac, “I’m disgusted with living because of these Hittite women. If Jacob takes a wife from among the women of this land, from Hittite women like these, my life will not be worth living.” I guess they must have been some troublesome girls, huh?

I find Jacob to be despicable, dishonest and deceitful.  His mother is partly to blame as it was her idea, but I find most of the fault to be with Jacob as every person should be held responsible for their own actions, no matter who tries to sway or tempt you.  But I find Isaac to be kind of a jerk in all this, too, or perhaps I just don’t understand how men of old went about doing things for their children.  He had a blessing for one son and not the other?!  That is lame.  You should have blessings for every child.  I have never quite understood how one has more power or more of a blessing because of who was pushed out of the womb first.  I think perhaps it should have more to do with the character of the children, not birth order.  Perhaps Isaac should have considered, “Hmm, who has helped me and Rebekah more?  Who’s helped more around the house?  Who has honored me?  Who has tried harder to do the right thing and who is the most responsible?”  Are these not strong indicators of who would be more worthy of your one and only blessing?  But honestly, you bless all your children, not just the first kid that pops out.  That’s just my opinion and that’s worth about 2 cents.

What do you think?

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

4 thoughts on “Jacob Steals Esau’s Blessing”

  1. I share the same opinion with you too which is worth 2 cents lol!! It is by your good works and deeds that one should be rewarded. And what is done to Mr A should also be done to Mr B in equal measures.
    Have a nice weekend from here. 🙂

    Like

    1. I also think if you have one son who was always there for you, helping you, honoring you, visiting you, bringing you love and generosity of the heart and hands, that son deserves more than a son who brings you nothing but torment, hurt, disgrace, disrespect, never comes to see you, brings you only heartache and disappointment. For the second son, I’m afraid I would have nothing to give him. This thought came to mind as I worked on a legal case involving a wealthy woman’s Last Will and Testament. She had one child, a daughter, who never came to visit her, and the lady left everything she had to her maidservant who had served her with love and kindness for years. The living daughter contested the Will and lost, as so she should.

      Like

Leave a Reply

