Day 13 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days

Job 32-34

Job 32 – Elihu is angry with the three friends that came to talk with Job, because they were unable to convince Job of God’s wisdom.  Instead, the three tried to make themselves sound like the wise ones, taking away from God, and were still unable to sway Job.

Job 33 – Elihu is speaking to Job, telling him to listen and be silent, that he is wrong to say that he is free from sin and a righteous man, but that God is greater than man and God does speak to man one way or another.  It may not always be understood or grasped at a given moment but God does speak, through whispers, through enlisting his angels to assist when needed, through dreams and visions, etc..  Elihu is speaking wisdom to Job.

Job 34 – Elihu is speaking to the three supposed wise men who came to counsel Job.  Job is being accused of blasphemy by Elihu.  He speaks of God’s greatness and power, all that he created and can take away in a breath.  No man (or woman) has the right ever to question God in what God has done, does or will do.  Man is to follow God’s ways, to turn from their wicked ways, repent, and follow God.  Anything less is wicked or evil.

Well, I have done plenty of going against God.  I have sinned, as we all have.  I have cried and pleaded with God, yelled at him, screamed at him and cursed him.  I have questioned him too many times to count.  I even turned my back on him at one point, but I’m glad to say that lasted for less than a day, before I came crawling back to him hoping he’d take me.  And he did.  I am a wretched soul for doing all of this to him.  And I admit my wrongdoing, not just to him, but to you.  I know many of you, if not all, have probably done the same.  It’s the human condition to question everything and I am a big questioner.  The really awesome thing about God is that he loves us without end, without reservation and his forgiveness is limitless.  He will always be there for us with his arms open wide when we are ready to claim him.

Have you questioned God, perhaps when you were mourning the loss of a loved one?  When you could not find work, perhaps?  When someone wronged you terribly?  Maybe you lost your home.  So many terrible things happen to us.  I find it very human of us to question God, become angry at God and want to turn away from him.  But, when I think about it, I believe what we long for more than anything else in this horrible existence called life (although not always so horrible) is our reconnection to God.  I feel that in the depths of our soul lies the remembrance of how it was with him before we came to Earth.  I believe he held our souls close to him and we knew him before we were born into these bodies and we spend our entire life trying to fill that void with whatever we can get our hands on, be it addictions, anger, crime, depression, and the list goes on.  I think what we want and need more than anything is to share that love with God.  And to be with God.  It’s not too late for us.  While we live, we have the opportunity to reconnect.  He doesn’t want us to wait until we stop doing this or stop doing that, or wait for us to get our life right or back on track.  It’s in those dark moments of resistance and of despair and brokenness that we need him the most and he wants us to call on him.  He wants to help us.  He’s waiting.

What do you think?

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

Leave a Reply

