Day 5 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days

Genesis 10 & 11, Job 1

Genesis 10 is pretty much just naming the offspring and clans of Shem, Ham and Japheth, Noah’s sons, according to their lines of descent, within their nations.  From these, the nations spread out over the earth after the flood.

Genesis 11 is about the Tower of Babel where the entire world had one language and a common speech.  Men were building a city to reach the heavens in order to make a name for themselves and to not be scattered over the entire earth.  God came to see the city and realized if they do this, nothing will be impossible for them.  He confused their language so they could not understand each other and scattered them all over the earth.  As well, this chapter is running the lineage from Shem to Abram.

Hallie said basically all Chapter 11 was about was people gettin’ busy and havin’ babies.

Job 1 is about a man named Job and he was perfect and upright, and one that feared God, and eschewed evil.  He had 7 sons and 3 daughters.  He had thousands of sheep and camels, five hundred yoke of oxen, and five hundred donkeys, and a very great household with servants.  This man was the greatest of all men of the east.

God questioned Satan on where Satan had been.  Satan explained he had been walking the earth.  God questioned him about Job, saying isn’t he a perfect and upright man, fearing God and eschewing evil.  Satan requested that he test Job and God granted permission except to not lay a finger on Job.

Satan destroyed everything, all the sheep, camels, oxen, donkeys, his servants and killed his family but Job shaved his head, fell down upon the ground and worshipped.  Job said, “Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave , and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.”  In all this Job did not sin, nor cast blame on God.

Wow.  I mean, I knew the story of Job, but in all honesty, I’m fairly positive I could not be that good of a person if I lost everything.  I would be okay with losing everything except my family.  That would turn my heart cold against God.  Just being honest here.  Perhaps my heart wouldn’t be cold forever but for a long long time, I am sure I would be angry with God.  I could never “unbelieve” in him, however, because I know for a fact he is the real deal.  I’ve had too many miracles and answered prayers in my life.  I know there’s a God and Jesus.  No doubt in my mind.

What do you think?  If you lost everything you own, all you have, including your family, would you, even in the heat of that moment, fall down and worship God?

You know I love You, God.  You know my heart and it’s full of love, joy and thankfulness for all You have done and still do.  You also know my truth and I know you appreciate honesty and authenticity.  So, I’m just being real.  I hope in my honesty, I do not offend God or anyone reading this.  Please do feel free to share your thoughts.

3 thoughts on “Day 5 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days

  1. udoji75 says:

    The truth of the matter is that it is not easy to serve God. Jesus and other men of God were tempted. The bible said the way of God is narrow which leads to etenal life and the way to the world is broad which leads to hell. But in all, if we can stand all this trials and temptations, we are going to have all to gain. Thank you so much for your post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

