Day 4 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days

Genesis 9 (We should have done more, but another long day and running low on time)

God said to Noah and his family to increase in number and fill the earth.  God gave all the animals of the earth, air and water to be used for food as well as the plants.  God will demand an accounting for every animal life and every human life.  I’m guessing the accounting of the animal life is to make sure you don’t eat it until it is completely dead and you actually use it all for food.  What do you think?  The accounting of human life is pretty clear.  If man sheds the blood of another man, by man will his blood too be shed.  Of course all this changed with the coming of Jesus, but we’ll get to all that in later chapters.

God established his covenant with Noah and his family and all the animals that he would never again destroy all life on earth with floods.  His promise was with a rainbow in the clouds as a reminder to every living creature of his covenant.

The sons of Noah who came out of the ark with him were Shem, Ham and Japheth (Ham was the father of Canaan).  Noah planted a vineyard and drank some of its wine, became drunk and fell asleep in his tent.  Ham saw his nakedness and instead of covering his father as he should have done or rather stayed out of his tent altogether, he went and told his brothers.  His brothers took a cover, walked into their father’s tent backwards, as to not see his nakedness and covered him.  I believe they felt it would be disrespectful and humiliating to their father for them to see him like that as well as an invasion of privacy.

Okay, this is where I got lost.

When Noah woke and found out what Ham had done, he cursed Canaan, which is Ham’s son.  I do not get why Canaan would be cursed and not Ham.  This makes no sense to me.  He blessed Shem and Japheth, which is cool but he made Canaan the lowest of slaves to Shem and Japheth.  I’m not sure what happened to Ham.  Did he not get punished?  Just Ham’s offspring?  Hmmm.  Anybody have any answers that can clear this up?  Perhaps in later chapters, it will be explained.  Who knows?  But looking forward to it.

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

2 thoughts on “Day 4 of Reading the Bible in 365 Days”

  1. When we sin against the holy spirit, God said that He will visit the iniquities upon our fathers even to the fouth generation. And that is why in the world today, the world is suffering the sin of our biblical father Adams. Noah not cursing Ham but rather Canaan is to show that point. I hope as you study your bible you will get to understand that. Have a nice day 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh, I do get that point already. I just feel it’s so unfair to punish the innocent for what the guilty do. But that’s just my honest heart talking. I would not begin to try to understand what God is thinking or has planned out for us. I realize it’s a reminder throughout history of our ancestors’ crimes. Even though I do not understand his decisions nor his ways, I love him and I know how wonderful and gracious he is and I praise him daily. There is nothing and no one so great as God. God knows I question everything and I bring all of my concerns and questions to him and ask him to help me understand. Perhaps we’ll understand once we get upstairs with him. How awesome would it be if we understood before then. Like certain things you make a decision about, a very difficult life altering decision and you question yourself and God for over 20 years if you made the right decision, never quite certain. Then, a situation occurs to show you that you totally did! What a miracle that is! It’s so great that God is still working his miracles today! Thank ya, Lord!

      Like

Leave a Reply

