Nano Day 14

I’m here.  I’m still alive.  Deep in the thick dark muck of it, but I’m here.  Words, words and more words.  They are crowding in around me.  For a little while, the voices were mute.  They’d gone away for a while.  Now, it’s as if they are making up for lost time.  I cannot seem to type fast enough.  Yeah, maybe it’s a good thing.  It’s also a crazed thing.  See me trying to sit up at my desk typing my little, actually long, fingers to the bone, tap-tap-tapping away as fast as my brain is throwing this stuff out, or rather attempting, not fully executing the task, but I’m trying hard to keep up.  It’s like the Bionic Woman on crack, while still hung over from taking Benadryl the night before, so you see a crazed Bionic Woman on crack, one eye locked wide open and the other dazed and confused and sleeeeepy and not at all here in this world.

Hallie has escaped to her room hiding away from my funny eyes and drowning out my crazed typing with music playing on her iPod.  Yes, playing the same song over and over and over again.  It’s the only song she’s listening to right now.  It’s the only song either of us are listening to right now.  I try to play other music to drown out Lorde’s voice, but it’s not working.  You know, you do the same thing.  You find that one song and you completely fall head over tea kettle in love with it and cannot stop playing it and singing to it, no matter how tone death or off pitch you are.  You just cannot help yourself.  No worries.  I’m not judgy.  I do the same thing with London Grammar.  These two songs, I play over and over and over.  LOVE.  So, see Bionic Woman on crack, with weird looking shaky eyes and earmuffs to drown out the repetition.  Coffee?!  Yes, at 4:40 p.m.!  What of it?!      o_O

Ok, not really but it sounds good, doesn’t it?  Nothing sounds good right now, so I’m just sippin’ on a little H2O now and again.  Took another Benadryl about an hour ago, so I don’t know what I’ll be like in a short while.

I’m doing well with my word count for Nano.  I had been slothing it for a couple of days, but today, I’ve typed enough to make up for those two days and then some.  23,562 is where I am now.  So far, so good.  At this point, I’ll meet my goal by Nov 30.  Ugh!  If I could just wake up!  Man!  Hate to be out of it like this.

Anywho.  Let’s see.  Oh, badges.  Well, technically, the following do not serve as badges.  They are not badges you earn for your Nano page, but I’m claiming them as badges for my Nano blogging, because I earned them.  I’ll just call them decals.  If you earned them, post them to yours, too.  Not a big deal, but hey, anything that makes you feel like you are accomplishing your goals along the way, is a good thing.

map_ywp

Check in on the 100,000 K-12 students participating in Young Writers Program, be jealous of their pep talkers, and root them on with the #NaNoWriMoYWP hashtag.  (I did all that.)

map_tumblr

Be sure to explore all the corners of the NaNoVerse. We’re on Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and YouTube. And on our blog, 30 Covers, 30 Days is in full swing.  (I checked them out on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and YouTube.)

map_nanomail

2013 pep talkers should be keeping those words flowing. Look for them in your NaNoMail inbox, plus visit the archive for past letters from authors like Neil Gaiman and John Green.  (I did all that.)

I did not earn the Join our all-day Writing Marathon and Donation Day  badge to power up your novel and support our nonprofit. We’ll be livestreaming from NaNo HQ, plus tweeting updates, challenges, and giveaways. No word count left behind.

map_procrastinationCheck the Procrastination Station on your dashboard for daily links to forums, social media, videos, and participant blog posts. Or, consult our expert NaNo Coaches!  (I checked forums, social media, videos and blog posts.)

map_back_up

Hey, you know that brilliant thing you’ve been writing? Be sure it’s backed up! Put it in the mysterious cloud, email it to yourself, or save it on a memory device (we like this one).  (Mine is saved on a flash drive.  I never leave home without it!)

Ha!  So, that’s it, folks!  Hallie is playing that song again, the pint sized mutt is barking (hush up, Lilly Marge!!!) and I think the kiddo is ready for spaghetti, so I’m off to play in the real world for a little while.  Not sure if I told y’all, but I’m working on two books.  One is a fictional fantasy world (well, partly.  Part is real world.  Part is fantasy world) and the other book is nonfiction/self-help.

Wow, Hallie has come out and is now playing Etta James’ At Last.

I guess I can take off the earmuffs now.  😉

Lata days!

-Carol

5 thoughts on “Nano Day 14

  1. cobbies69 says:

    Really happy to see you are doing well and maintaining your sanity, well almost, Etta James will help.. continue the good words,, and meet you at the finish line ,, ps: I am not far away myself… chow for now , 😉

    Like

  2. dayya says:

    You’re doing fine. Do you feel like sometimes you’re in a race with yourself? During Nano, I feel like a galloping horse! Galloping even if I’m not getting anywhere. Thanks for visiting pendrifter!

    Like

    • Thanks. You too! Totally, yes. I’ve had so much crap to deal with lately, which has caused depression, which sucks, so I lost a couple or 3 days writing, because I was completely zoned out but then playing catch up got me to where I need to be. It actually helps — the racing. It helps to take my mind off the other stuff when I’m “in the zone” of racing through the words. I imagine my fingers are moving at the speed of sound. All I see are my hands up to the knuckles and the fingers are moving too fast to see. 😉 At least, that’s how fast my brain has been working the last couple of days. My fingers can’t keep up. Wish it was like that every day, sort of. But you are getting somewhere. You are caught up, but I get what you mean. Thank you, too, for visiting! 😉 And keep up the good work. I know we’ll meet at the finish line before the race is up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

