NaNoWriMo Day 4

Usually, I tend to write in silence as I have to pay close attention to the voices in my head in order to write down what they’re saying.  Besides, there’s usually mood music playing throughout the duration of the scenes, low enough to still hear the voices, watch the action, yet still hear the faint whispers of the score playing in the background.  Most of the time, my stories, songs and poetry play in my head like a movie.

It’s only day 4 and I have an unusual amount of depression/stress/anxiety beating out of my heart, coursing through my veins and pounding in my head, which is making it increasingly difficult to hear the voices and the background music as this pounding in my head is drowning out the sounds.  I write anyway.  I just keep rereading the last 2-3 paragraphs and perhaps skip ahead 2-3 paragraphs.  I know something must be inserted here but I cannot settle down enough to concentrate.

Today, during the moments I should be writing, I pause for reflection, to seek out inspiration and allow colorful imagery to envelope my mind and senses while listening to these magical tunes for a moment. Perhaps these melodies will help me to engage better with the voices, settle my mind, be still and listen.  And then, I will attempt to write again.

I’m listening to this tune I heard on the last episode of Reign.  It’s by London Grammar and the song is Wasting My Young Years.  I love it so much, I have to listen again, and then play another song by them that’s lovely – Strong.  I feel both of these songs play in to particular scenes in my story with perfection and brings me great relief, as I know this will help me when I start writing again in a few minutes, while I go work on those scenes with the tunes playing faintly in the background, struggling to be heard as if they are quietly playing inside my head, which also helps me.  For now, I’ll listen to the beauty and allow it to inspire me.  I play Clocks by Coldplay.  Ah, another great one.

These are songs that could sooo be playing in the movie in my head, so perhaps they will play in the movie as I write the story, all the while being sucked in by the characters, the mood, the action, the flow as the music takes me down the stream, carefully avoiding each bump and hopefully not crashing into any more rocks along the way.

I am writing a fantasy/adventure/sci-fi novel (which is my favorite to read and watch as well as write) and I must fight the resistance and seek to destroy all that opposes me, namely the stress of writer’s block.  I get so angry that I allow all that depression to take over how my mind operates!!!

Sometimes, pressing the pause button on the writing to listen and be inspired by beautiful music is just the ticket.  Find music that inspires you, that plays into your story – the movie playing in your own head.  I played one of my all time favorites – an oldie but a goodie, Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd, although I clicked on 0:37, because the beginning is a bit annoying.

Next is the original soundtrack to Harry Potter.  Yes, I’m a Harry Potter nerd.  My daughter and I both are.  Can’t help it.  Another good one for a specific scene in my story is by one of my all time favorites – Switchfoot as they play I Dare You To Move.  Then, I can’t help myself but to listen to their This Is Your Life.

I recommend, if you cannot concentrate and you need to add some vibrancy to your imagination, seek out some music that can help you along your way.  Pay attention to the songs played in your favorite shows.  Remember what bands they announce at the end of the show.  Think of your favorite bands, sounds, movies and look up that music online.  Youtube is awesome!  Bookmark the songs on your internet browser so you can access them anytime and let them play in the background while you write or else just take a break and listen to them.  Then, by all means, get back to your writing.  As that is the whole point.

I’m at 6,970 words, so all is not lost.  The goal is 50,000 by Nov 30, so I am hopeful I can meet that finish line proudly.  I have a higher goal set for myself, though, so we’ll see if I meet that one, as well.  Rock on, Writers!  We got this!

😉

Carol

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 4

  1. Colline says:

    Looks like you are well on your way 🙂

    Like

  2. cobbies69 says:

    like the music, but me i am a silent person… good luck and may it continue.. 😉

    Like

    • I am, too, most of the time. Too hard to concentrate with any noise or music playing. Although, it did help me yesterday to get out of that writer’s block funk I was in. London Grammar helped to break down a wall. How are you doing in Nano? Are you where you want to be? I hope it’s going great! 🙂

      Like

      • cobbies69 says:

        Yes it is going well my prepping has proved its worth.. wishing yours is also…my Parchment is falling into place well as I write.. 😉

        Like

      • I’m so proud for you! Sounds like your mind and fingers and playing well together. I did great up until a day or two ago. Wonder if I need to zone out to more music to break through writer’s block. Usually the voices talk to me but, for now at least, they are silent. I will work harder tomorrow morning on the story whether they are in the mood to speak or not. Glad to hear how well Parchment is going. Mine is still Cursed series (Book 1) – Seven Diamonds (tentative title). Had been titled Diamond in the Rough. I know I’ll change it again before it’s all said and done. 😉

        Like

      • cobbies69 says:

        Come on Squidge, your imagination is not at fault,, just let your fingers do the walking or typing, you know you can write well your osts etc show that, just imagine this with your stories.. you can and will succeed ,, keep telling yourself, and say I will get my winners badge,,, show them off together… take care my friend… 😉

        Like

      • You’re so sweet! I will do better. Yes, we will meet at that finish line together! 😉 You take care, too, my dear friend.

        Like

Leave a Reply

