Another Christmas Past

P1040051Class Christmas party, December 18, 2009.  Hallie was 10 and in the 4th grade and in her jammies, as you can see.  😉  Her grin just makes me smile.

How can you not smile at any child’s grin?  Oh, I do love the kiddos!

I was the homeroom parent for all her classes, Kindergarten through 5th grade.

After that, I guess they got too old for the Christmas parties.  *sniff*  No more jammies.  No more cupcakes, little finger sandwiches and hot cocoa with marshmallows.  No Christmas Carol CDs playing on the stereo.

I don’t think you should ever outgrow these things.  Why is it, when you reach a certain grade or age, you are too old to enjoy life?  I say, Never Grow Up!!!  Jammies and bunny slippers every day!  Hot cocoa or hot spiced apple cider every night!  Christmas Carols from the Friday after Thanksgiving till New Year’s Eve!  Or any ole’ time you’re in the mood to hear them.

I think whatever brings you joy and makes you smile and makes your heart glad, then you should do it.  No matter what anyone else thinks.

And if you know doing something for someone else will make their heart smile, then have a wild hair, and do that thing for them, even if they are a stranger.  Not only will it make their heart glad, it will gladden your own.  It does your heart good to do good for another’s heart.  Now THAT’S Christmas Spirit.  And why not have Christmas Spirit all year long?  It can only make the world a better place.  And don’t we need some o’ that?!  Especially now.  With all that’s been going on during this emotionally heavy time (for so many, or I’d say most, because we share in each other’s pain), we all can do a little to bring someone else some cheer; some love.

And it has nothing to do with money.  ’cause the Good Lord knows I don’t have any of that to give.  Wish I did.  I’m talking about one small gesture.  One small act.  A random act of kindness.  Oh, I’m sure you’ll think of something.  Wouldn’t it be great if you did something so sweet for someone… Then that person did something nice for someone else…  And it went on and on till it traveled around the world?  And it all started with you.  You really can make a big difference by doing something so small.

Call it paying it forward.  GREAT movie, by the way.  Or Random Acts of Kindness.  Great book, by the way.  Call it whatever you like, but try it.  See what kind of Christmas Spirit and light you can ignite.

Tell me about it if you like.  Tell me how it made me feel.  Tell me about the light in the other person’s eyes when you did your kind thing.  Share your idea to give someone else an idea – somewhere to start.  Let me know if you need an idea.

I love you guys.  And I hope you all sleep tight tonight.  And know that you are always in my thoughts and in my prayers.  I do hope you are having a joyous holiday season with people you love, despite sadness that you may be carrying with you.  Do take time to share your love and tell your peeps just how much you love them.  Try to bring joy to other faces and embrace joy for yourself.  It’s good exercise for the heart, you know?  And Merry Christmas to all!  I bid you good night.  *smooch*

-Carol

2 thoughts on “Another Christmas Past

  1. cobbies69 says:

    my ellie still likes her chocolate and marsh mallows. but it is sad thing really.. nice read .. have a great Xmas squidge and you family best wishes

    Like

    • We do too! Never a bad time for choc and marshmallows! It does make me sad that the schools stop the Christmas parties, though. You are never too old for a Christmas party. We had such fun at our Girl Scouts Christmas party. All the grown ups had just as much fun as the girls. We were all children for a little while. Smiles and laughter and giddiness. Thanks! We did have a lovely Christmas. Hope you and your sweet family had a great Christmas, as well, squish! Best wishes for a superb, awesome, spectacular 2013 with all your greatest wishes fulfilled!

      Like

Leave a Reply

