October Photo Challenge: Happy Fall Y’all!

Wow, I prayed the work and school parts of the days of the week would go by fast, the evenings slowly, and the weekend, even slower, and God answered.  Usually, the weekend days fly by faster than the speed of light, and I hardly remember what we did, because there’s so much to do and the time goes by so swiftly, my head just spins and spins.  Not this time.  A nice, leisurely weekend is just what the doctor ordered.

Yesterday, just went out to eat barbecue and get groceries, stop and get our signature frappes and home to rest, chill, lay around, talk, laugh, sit in the porch swing and enjoy the breeze, laugh, and laugh.  Oh, Hallie made me laugh so hard, tears came out.  Those are the healthiest laughs of all.  I wish I had my camera to capture her expression after she did something so ridiculously funny.  And I love how she can laugh at herself.  I just about fell outta the swing.  The neighbors, I am sure, heard the laughter.

Today, just sleeping a little later than our normal 4:00 or 4:30am.  I slept till 7 and I let her sleep till 9.  That, in itself, is a treat I look forward to all week.  Didn’t fix a special breakfast like I normally do.  I just let her eat what she wanted and I just had coffee.  Look, as long as she eats anything, I’m happy.  She’s so thin.  I look forward to those growth spurts, because during those very few days, she eats like a man.  You can just never tell by looking at her.

We tried to roast hotdogs and marshmallows in the fire pit but it was too windy, I couldn’t get a fire started.  Hallie tried, too.  So, we came in and roasted them on top of my gas stove.  Hey, whatever works.  😉  Then, after we ate our yummy chili dogs, beans and chips, we went back to roast marshmallows.  YUM!  Love marshmallow gooooop!  It’s the best, unless, like me, you eat four, and start feeling sick.  So, I downed a few swallows of ice cold skim milk and was a bit better.  Ok, I’m rambling, aren’t I?  I’ll get to it, then.

I had been wanting to snap a few photos of the leaves in our back yard and wanted to do so before the rain, but in the mornings when we leave, it’s not light enough out, so I would have missed out on the browns and yellows.  Wish there were more reds and oranges, but I like the yellow and brown.  I looked out the door this morning and grabbed my cam and snapped a few.  I think I’ll rake them up into a giant pile and get some pics of Hallie playing in them, maybe tomorrow, or next weekend.

Wish it was a little chillier, but I’m liking the breezy weather.  It’s quite enjoyable, I must say.  Makes us gloriously happy to sit outside in the porch swing and not sweat, but just rest, let the breeze caress our faces and hair, and just sit, and swing, and be.

Hope y’all had a wonderfully restful weekend, as we did.  Being busy can be fun, too.  I just love those weekends when you can mostly rest, because they are few and far between, it seems.  Enjoy your evening.  Love ya!  *smooch*

Please join in with the October Photo Challenge.

(1) place “October Photo Challenge” as part of your Title,

(2) link to https://adjustingyourfocus.wordpress.com/category/october-photo-challenge/, so others can join in on the fun,

(3) comment me with your post link,

(4) post a picture every day, or at least one day, showing what October means to you. Could be a harvest, delicious Autumn meal, hearty soup, eerie fog cascading over a glen, leaves falling off the trees, Halloween cookies, a Jack-o’-lantern, cute little Halloween costumes, the state fair coming to town, a special birthday, whatever is special to you during this October month.

Fellow friend bloggers who joined in with October Photo Challenge:

1) http://ceeslifephotographyblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/october-photo-challenge-giant-pumpkins/

2) http://jullianeford.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/october-photo-challenge-the-flowers-are-gone/

3) http://jullianeford.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/october-photo-challenge-autumn-sunset/

-Carol

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

Leave a Reply

