More on Pioneer Cabin 1864








Helena, Montana, July 2010 Roadtrip.  On the day we visited here, the cabin was closed, so I took shots outside the windows.  Sorry that many of them are blurred.  Still, if you listen closely, you can hear the whispers from yesteryear.

I soooo love old cabins, old dishes and old furnishings.  There’s just something so romantic about them.  Ghostly, even.  Love it!!!  Each piece tells a story.

It actually feels and looks much bigger when you are inside.  I visited here back in the 90’s, when I lived not too far away.

Hope y’all are havin’ an awesome day today.  *hug*  😉

– Carol

Author: Carol B Sessums

Writer, Editor, Coffee Addict, Lover of Mountains. Lives to shrink the planet, one story and connection at a time.

6 thoughts on “More on Pioneer Cabin 1864”

  1. Can you imagine living in that little cabin day in, and day out, with no electricity? If the occupants could fast forward 150+ years, they would be amazed at the world we live in today. Looking back on history, I doubt many of us today would survive our predecessor’s lifestyle. Still, comparing time periods provides lots of food for thought. I love your photos, Carol. The place really is oozing with charm. 🙂

    Like

    1. Actually, I think I could imagine living in that tiny little cabin. Can’t imagine no a/c, though. I think I’d just die. Don’t mind small cabins and cottages, as they are quite cozy, I think, but to live without a/c – no thanks. ‘course, they don’t know what they were missin’. If we weren’t spoiled with all of our treasures and benefits of today, we could live how they lived. We wouldn’t know any different. Sometimes, I think I wouldn’t mind having been born in their time period. They had their own set of worries as we do now, but I believe times were simpler back then. Still, I am thankful for some of our progress, for indoor plumbing, a/c, better medicines, etc. Thanks, Marcy. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

