Mural Dedicated to Women

The Women’s Commemorative Mural – Helena, Montana

Painted by Montana artists Delores Dinsmore, Anne Appleby, and Marilyn Sternberg, along with assistance from many other community members who wanted to get in on the painting.

Painted on the south face of the Livestock Building (walking mall) at Last Chance Gulch in Helena, the mural illustrates the roles of women in Montana history.

Dedicated in 1979.  Restoration was done in 2005 by Joe Thielen.

I’ve seen this beauty many times in the years I lived in Montana.  Going back to visit in 2010 brought back so many wonderful, vivid and colorful memories.  This mural was just one of them.

Hope y’all are having a wonderful Friday, wherever you are in the world.  Where are you?  I’m in Mississippi.  It’s a hot, steamy, somewhat sunny, somewhat overcast day, 87 sweltering degrees with a wonderful 92 for a high to look forward to.  I’m joking by the way, if you could not sense my sarcasm.  Hoping and praying for a delightfully cool evening, for everyone.  Good day to ya!  😉

*hug*

-Carol

Day 146 of my Project 366.  Yea!

 

14 thoughts on “Mural Dedicated to Women

  1. Claudia says:

    Carol,
    That’s a beautiful mural. 🙂
    The heat in Mississippi sounds like the heat Texas. Sometimes, I prefer to be a hermit in the summers. Hope you find some cool. 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    Claudia

    Like

    • Hi Claudia! Very talented artists, indeed! It’s so welcoming.
      Girl, I prefer to be a hermit, as well, out of the blistering heat of these steamy Mississippi days. We didn’t have a winter this year, nor a spring, just jumped straight into summer, and I DON’T LIKE IT! It really kicks my butt. I’m weak. I can’t handle it. My irish/english/french blood wishes to be up north where there’s NO humidity and snow in the winters. Of course, the weather is wonky everywhere, but Mississippi is the worst heat and humidity I’ve ever experienced. I’ve lived in Florida, Texas, Alabama, and Montana, besides Mississippi, and I’ll take Montana any day! Although I do love the lush trees and grass of Mississippi. Just a bit further north would be more enjoyable.
      I have found some cool. I’m inside most of the time with our a/c on full blast. Dash the expense of the electricity. I refuse to suffer. I’d gladly go broke trying to stay cool. Ha! 😉
      Hope you are having a great weekend, and you try to stay cool, too! That heat’ll kill ya. *hug*
      Carol

      Like

  2. Judy says:

    Hot and steamy here in Missouri too. just rained….all around us. Not here but all around us. Well,okay, it sprinkled. Even the grass was dry when I walked through it. Beautiful mural to a beautiful cause. Bless all who worked on it.

    Like

    • Oh, don’t ya just hate that, when it sprinkles and doesn’t even get a chance to soak in? We all need a nice 24 hours of a steady medium rain, not sprinkles, not torrential, no storms, just a nice long soaking rain. I can hear the froggies singin’ now.
      I love Missouri. Been through there a few times on road trips. Beautiful state.
      I just love that mural, and the fact that it’s dedicated to hard working women. What a blessing it is for everyone to see, and especially for those who put their hard work into creating it. 😉
      *hug*

      Like

  3. cobbies69 says:

    we here in UK are having a mini heatwave, no mural though. yours is a very good mural, far better than graffiti like we have. ;).

    Like

    • Oh, Gerry, I know y’all are. Have y’all gotten much rain, yet? If we don’t hurry and get more rain, our grass may shrivel up and pass away. Well, it’s already shriveling. I have to water the flowers just to keep them alive. Thinking of turning the lawn sprinkler on to make the grass happy. I’m sure Hallie wouldn’t mind that, either. 😉
      Y’all have a lot of graffiti where you are? We don’t have much around here where we are in Mississippi. There are murals in the city of Vicksburg, which is about 30 minutes away, but none really in or around Jackson. LOVE that mural in Helena, Montana!

      Like

      • cobbies69 says:

        Most graffiti is now gone, and our councils are enlisting artist and volunteers to do murals around the city. I do do believe other cities have a little bit of problem still. But yes I like your picture. next time, and thanks..

        Like

      • Oh, I’d love to see what the artists do around your city. We could truly use some artists around our cities. Poor Jackson (our capital city) looks really pitiful in many areas, and is in great need of clean up. Beautification projects and artistry would be of great benefit to Jackson, but alas, our state is poor, and I do not see any of that coming soon, especially with the state of the economy, nor with all the crime in those areas. Maybe one day… There’s always hope.

        Thanks, brother! 😉

        Like

      • cobbies69 says:

        might try to get some piccies for you to see. 😉

        Like

      • Oooo, yea! I can hardly wait to see ’em! 😉 *squish*

        Like

  4. Colline says:

    Stunning mural.
    I am sitting at home in Toronto where summer has decided to finally arrive. One day we were wearing jackets, the next shorts!

    Like

    • Aw, Colline. I so feel your pain. We seem to have stopped having actual seasons. Just a couple weeks of fall, then straight into summer. I’m ready to move further north, where the climate better suits me. Not much of a spring? Here neither. 😦 Yeah, that sounds much like Mississippi. We say if you don’t like the weather here, just wait 5 minutes, ’cause it’ll change. Either for the better or worse. Usually worse, heat-wise. C’mon Fall!!!! You can always put on enough clothes to stay warm but ya can’t strip down far enough to stay cool. I’ll stay under the a/c till the heatwave is gone.

      Like

  5. fgassette says:

    Beautiful mural.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

Leave a Reply

