Put your nose in a rose, I suppose


My little ole play on words…I suppose. Made me think of:

“…A Rose is a rose is a rose is a rose is / A rose is what Moses supposes his toes is / Couldn’t be a lily or a daphi daphi dilli / It’s gotta be a rose cuz it rhymes with mose!”

The sentence appears in the 1952 musical film Singin’ in the Rain, in the musical number “Moses Supposes.” While parodying a dialogue coach, the characters of Don Lockwood and Cosmo Brown sing (the quote above):

Ya want the whole song/rhyme from Singin’ in the Rain?

“Moses supposes his toeses are Roses,
But Moses supposes Erroneously,
Moses he knowses his toeses aren’t roses,
As Moses supposes his toeses to be!
Moses supposes his toeses are Roses,
But Moses supposes Erroneously,
A mose is a mose!
A rose is a rose!
A toes is a toes!
Hooptie doodie doodle
Moses supposes his toeses are Roses,
But Moses supposes Erroneously,
For Moses he knowses his toeses arent roses,
As Moses supposes his toeses to be!
Moses
(Moses supposes his toeses are roses)
Moses
(Moses supposes erroneously)
Moses
(Moses supposes his toeses are roses)
As Moses supposes his toeses to be!
A Rose is a rose is a rose is a rose is
A rose is what Moses supposes his toes is
Couldn’t be a lily or a daphi daphi dilli
It’s gotta be a rose cuz it rhymes with mose!
Moses!
Moses!
Moses!
(Dance Sequence)
AAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!”

I’m sure you think (or perhaps know) that I’m crazy, or just silly. I’m really outta my stinkin’ mind! 😉 I just adore that movie, and this shot of one of my beauties made me think of that rhyme, the song, and the show. So, enjoy. And if you haven’t seen Singin’ in the Rain, I highly recommend watching/renting/buying. I can’t tell you how many times we’ve watched it. One of my favorites.

😉  Love ya!  *hug*

Oh, and for those of you who know what I’m talkin’ about:
Remember the character, Lina Lamont?  With that voice that grates on your nerves – “A hideous combination of high-pitched screeching and babyish cutesiness, threatens to ruin her career.  Her attempt to pronounce “I can’t stand them” with “I caaan’t stan’m” is priceless.”

I can see the voice coach saying, “Cauuuun’t”, with Lina screeching, “Caaan’t”.  😉

Carol

Day 111 of my Project 366.

Author: Carol B Sessums

I'm a person just like you who wants to find ways to better my life - not to just better myself, but to become extraordinary and to love my life.

5 thoughts on “Put your nose in a rose, I suppose”

  1. Whahahhah! Oh, I love “singing in the rain” and can watch movies like that over and over. Like Mary Poppins…one of my old time favourites too. 🙂 They should make “scratch” screens as well…so I can scratch the screen and smell the rose. LOL!
    Stunning rose hon! 🙂
    Have a great weekend and lots of hugs and love to you all. 🙂
    *big hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

