My Lovely Flower

Gentle, yet strong
Beautiful and sweet 
Thriving, a survivor
A champion among many, resilient 
Brilliant and vivid 
This is a flower
This is my mother 

She brought us a flower from her garden today.  A beautiful Iris.  She knows everything about growing things and has a true green thumb. 

Beauty abounds and surrounds where she resides
Yet, the truest beauty grows inside
She is my flower
And she is still blooming, not quite full 
She has yet to finish her growth
And has many more seasons for blossoming and for rebirth 

It is a treasure watching my flower bloom.

“Where flowers bloom so does hope.”
–  Lady Bird Johnson, Public Roads: Where Flowers Bloom

“To pick a flower is so much more satisfying than just observing it, or photographing it …  So in later years, I have grown in my garden as many flowers as possible for children to pick.” 
–  Anne Scott-James  

“Each flower is a soul opening out to nature.” 
–  Gerald De Nerval

“When bright flowers bloom
Parchment crumbles, my words fade
The pen has dropped …”
–  Morpheus

“Since Iris is the Greek goddess for the Messenger of Love, her sacred flower is considered the symbol of communication and messages.  Greek men would often plant an iris on the graves of their beloved women as a tribute to the goddess Iris, whose duty it was to take the souls of women to the Elysian fields.”  
–  Hana No Monogatari: The Stories of Flowers

“The Earth Laughs in Flowers.”
–  Ralph Waldo Emerson 

Love you, Mama, my beautiful flower. 

Love you, my dear sweet Hallie, more than the air that I breathe.

Love you, my treasured family (friends are part of my family, fyi).

May you have beauty in your every day, always love in your heart, a smile on your face, laughter in your soul, and peaceful rest in your every night.

*squishy hug and a smooch*  😉

-Carol

Day 104 of my Project 366.

P.S.  Hallie’s fever is a bit closer to normal now at 8pm.  Please pray it gets to normal through the night and stays that way.  Hopefully, she has kicked this little bug to the curb.  My leeetle tough stuff.

And prayers requested for Mama.  She’s still suffering a lot with pain from her surgeries, but she’s tough stuff, too, and it’s hard to slow that girl down.  😉

Thanks, y’all!

13 thoughts on “My Lovely Flower

  1. fgassette says:

    Beautiful. Praying for your mother,

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  2. Sonel says:

    Oh, they are gorgeous indeed hon! Great shots!
    Sending lots of good energies for Hallie and Mom. Give them lots of hugs and smooches from me and Simba. 🙂
    Love you!
    *big hugs*

    Like

  3. cobbies69 says:

    Beautiful post and lovely words. Your pictures are top drawer, Carol. I am sending my get well vibes across the pond to your Hallie. and all around you that need it. Always caring..;) your adopted bro!

    Like

  4. orples says:

    Iris is among my favorites in the flower world. My only regret is that they are so short lived for the season. Of couse there are lots of varieites, so if you plant several of them, the season can be extended a wee bit. Just keep adding more flowers every year, and you’ll live in rainbow wonderland eventually.

    Like

    • Among my favorite, too, Marcy. They are beautiful flowers – every color and shade I’ve ever seen. I know what you mean – short lived. Hate that. And once you pick them, they don’t stay open long in water. In fact, I don’t believe I’ve seen a picked flower shrivel up so fast after it’s been picked. Mama has Irises all over the place – all different colors. I need to plant some myself.

      Like

  5. You’ve created a lovely post about my favorite flower! I hope your mother and Hallie recover soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

