A-Z Archive: E Challenge = E is for Evacuate!

EVACUATE!
Doesn’t this sign sort of take you back to memories of ‘Lost’?  Many people hated that show, but I loved it.

It would suck to be stuck on the island after hearing eight short blasts.

I visited Ryan Dam in Great Falls, Montana, many, many times when I was stationed at Malmstrom Air Force Base back in the 90’s.

I got thrown off the island many times, for I admit I am a scrambler, and it was my addiction to venture out onto every climbing rock I did see, whether it was on the other side of the fence, or not. I just could not help myself. Yes, I know the fence is there for a reason, and yes, I can read the signs, but, well, an addiction is an addiction, and climbing rocks, no matter how dangerous, was mine. I have since wised up. I’m a mom now, so I have to follow the rules and behave myself, so no more scrambling for me. I won’t lie and say I don’t miss it, though. I like being a mom more. 😉
  
My folks came to visit me in Great Falls a few times and Ryan Dam was one of the places I took them. They loved it!

I brought my mom back in 2010, and this time, with my daughter, as well.  It was Hallie’s first visit to Montana. Great Falls had changed soooo much, Mama and I bawled like small children. Hallie just sat there, trying to comfort us, probably thinking we’d both lost our minds. Ryan Dam had changed a lot, too, but many of our fond memories were still there. See the french poodle pics in the rock wall in an earlier post. Turtle Rock was still there, although broken. Many of the rocks and trees that were open before are now closed off with fencing. The swinging bridge is still there and looks the same. It was nice to see it again. Most of the pics I took have Hallie and Mama in them. Perhaps I’ll post some of those another day.

Day 31 of my 366 Project. Lovin’ every minute of it! Oh yeah!

If you’d like to join us in this entertaining weekly challenge, or see more amazing shots, the A-Z Archive is led by frizztext:

http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/a-z-archive-e-challenge/

Hope y’all have a beautiful day. *hug* 😉

-Carol

7 thoughts on “A-Z Archive: E Challenge = E is for Evacuate!

  1. fgassette says:

    I enjoyed this tour. The photos are amazing.

    Like

  2. 2e0mca says:

    I assume that the warning blasts indicate that they’re going to increase the amount of water released by the dam? Nice set of photos 🙂

    Like

  3. maybe it is better to cross that location via airplane?

    Like

Leave a Reply

