Resolution #2 – Read at Least One Book Per Month

Hallie and I love to read.  Today’s shot is not about nature, scenery, or loved ones, and it’s not a great photo, but it is about something important – reading.  Whatever suits your fancy, from non-fiction to science fiction, everyone can find something that interests them. 

 

I’ve posted a photo of a book that I’ve already read and studied.  I actually talked about it in another blog:  www.becomemoreme.wordpress.com, where I read the book in forty days and shared my thoughts with each entry of the book study, as the book is set up to be read and studied in forty days.  Not everyone is interested in religion, and that’s ok.  This book is not so much about religion, per se.  It’s more about better understanding the bible, which helped me greatly, as the bible is the most confusing book I’ve ever tried to read, and one day soon, I will pick it back up and study it further. 

No, the book posted here is not so much for religious fanatics, as I’m definitely not one.  But I am a spiritual person and this book helped me a great deal on so many levels. 

It helped me have more of a connection with God/Jesus. 

It helped me to find more compassion, more forgiveness, more faith, not only in God, but in people and myself, as well. 

It helped me to see…well…me, in a different light. 

Most of the time, I don’t even understand myself and why I do the things I do and feel the way I feel, and this book helped me to understand myself a little better.  I guess I have more patience with myself these days.  And with my being laid off, God knows I need some patience with myself and the crazy world out there.  So, there it is. 

If you want to check out the other blog, please do.  The days of the book study are about the first forty entries of the blog, starting roughly around January 1, 2011, I think.  And if you want to check out the book, I’m certain you can get it for a reduced cost on www.amazon.com.  The book truly changed my life and how I see and relate to everything. 

Oh, don’t misunderstand.  I still go off sometimes when people cut me off in traffic and I don’t tolerate rudeness well, but I must say I have more patience with people these days.  You never know what they might be going through.

If you do or have read the book, please feel free to share your thoughts here, and if and how it changed you.  But whether you read the book, or not, find something you like to read.  I’m resolving to read at least one book per month.  Hallie reads several books per month, so that doesn’t even need to be on her list.

Leave a Reply

